Black America’s Favorite Pastime

Josh Harrison
The Green Light
Published in
4 min readFeb 4, 2022

The story of an ex-Negro-league baseball player almost turned pro

Reverend James Perry lined up at bat, outside his home in Greenville, SC

When you think of baseball players now, who are the first players that come to mind? Babe Ruth? Barry Bonds? Derek Jeter? probably a group of players that range from different ethnic and racial backgrounds. Well, baseball hasn’t always been this way, and due to segregation in the 1920s blacks and whites sports were separated, which led to the creation of the Negro National League on February 13, 1920, by Rube Foster. Though the Negro League was short-lived, its impact on the history of America will never be forgotten.

During my elementary school years, I began to take a liking to baseball, and started to take lessons. This is how I met Reverend Perry, he was my first ever coach. The workouts weren’t just about baseball, I would learn life lessons and interesting stories every time we were together. He became a very strong mentor in my life. I recently learned the complete story of his experience playing Negro League Baseball.

The Indianapolis Clowns were one of the most popular teams in the Negro League and in 1971, James Perry got a once in a lifetime call from the team, being asked to come join them in Indianapolis and cement his name in history.

Growing up, I know you played almost every sport, was baseball your favorite?

I'll have to say football and baseball were both my favorites. At Beck High School, I excelled in both sports and was offered a football scholarship to play quarterback at Elizabeth City State University in North Carolina, but I was also given a contract, which I accepted, to join the Indianapolis Clowns in the Negro National League.

Indianapolis Clowns Flyer

What were some of the places you traveled while playing in the league?

All over America and some parts of Canada, we traveled to Toronto, Winnipeg, Quebec, and more. We went from coast to coast in the U.S and always traveled by bus. We were on the road all season and weren’t able to return home, I only got to see family if we played close to the area.

What was it like in these places, were you guys welcomed?

No not at all. A lot of us at the time thought the North was far more welcoming than the South, but this wasn’t always the case. A lot of cities separated there inner and outer city by railroad tracks, and we often played in the inner cities with the poor whites. Canada was a lot more welcoming, and white people treated us well there, it also wasn’t a rare sight to see interracial couples in Canada.

What was a gameday traveling schedule like on the team?

Well, it depended on if we got there at night or morning. If it was night, we would just go to the hotel and sleep after being on the bus all day. But if we arrived during the morning we would probably go somewhere for breakfast and still go rest at a hotel before heading to the field at about midday. We would play and go back to the hotel, then hit the road the next day.

How much did they pay back then compared to now?

Nothing like it is today. I played catcher and was probably making around 700–800 dollars a month which was still pretty good at the time. I was able to buy my first house at the age of 22. Now you see players making a million dollars straight out of high school.

How did your playing career come to an end?

Well, I felt as I could have gone pro, but I wanted to be back home in Greenville with my family. I had two kids and a wife back home to look after, and I wanted to be with them. I played two seasons with the Clowns and came back home, but then joined a semi-pro football team called the Greenville Bulls.

Poster for Greenville Bulls, Reverend Perry pictured middle under center.

What’s some advice you would give to young athletes today?

Don’t let anything get in the way of your dreams. Focus on what you want out of life and be dedicated to achieving those goals. I had 3 kids in my twenties which created other things to focus on. Be responsible.

--

--

Josh Harrison
The Green Light

An athlete trying to find his way in the writing world