From the Bottom of the Barrel to the Top of the Charts

An in-depth look at the album “This One’s for You” by Luke Combs

AJ Simpkins
The Green Light
4 min readMay 17, 2021

--

Luke Combs, the burly country music artist with a voice that could move mountains.

Luke Combs has such a powerful voice that could shake you to your very core. And paring that together with his strong and descriptive lyrics, you get a instant hit most every time. Of all of the songs he has released there has never been a song that I didn’t like, only songs that I’ve liked more than others.

“Hurricane,” a song that was originally released as a single a few months before the album was published, was Luke Combs’ first little nudge into the spotlight. However, the song gained most of its popularity when the album released. This was Luke Combs’ first number one charted song. Two weeks after its release it hit number one on Billboard Country Airplay chart. The song depicts a hard breakup that Luke had gone through. And just when he was starting to get better, this girl shows up again and completely destroys him. He compares his relationship to this girl as a natural disaster or “Hurricane.” He sings about how he is affected by this girl and how he couldn’t control the way he felt around her.

Then you rolled in with your hair in the wind
Baby, without warning
I was doing alright but just your sight
Had my heart stormin’

Eight months later, Luke Combs released his first album, This One’s for You in 2017 and it was an instant hit; The album sold 35,000 copies in the first week alone and went straight to the top of the charts. This One’s for You really put Luke Combs on top, one day no one had heard of him and the next his songs are being played everywhere. The album was at the number one spot of Top Country Albums for 50 weeks straight.

The song, “When it Rains it Pours,” was certified 3x Platinum and inspired a music video that got 277 million views (March 2021). The song is about how Combs went on a winning streak after a girlfriend broke up with him. From winning a scratch off to winning fishing trip in Panama, Combs blames all of his success on his girlfriend leaving him.

Well I’ve been on one hell of a redneck roll
For three weeks now
And it all started on the day that she walked out

“And it all started on the day that she walked out”

“One Number Away” hit number one on the Billboard Country Airplay charts and was certified 2x Platinum. The song talks about a man who is struggling, trying not to call his ex-girlfriend. It talks about how he misses her and how much he feels that he needs her.

I’m one number away, From calling to you
I said I was through, But I’m dying, inside

“This One’s for You” and “This One’s for You Too” side by side album covers.

Almost a whole year later in 2018, Luke Combs released a deluxe version of called This One’s for You, Too. The album added five new songs to his already popular first album, “Houston, We Have a Problem,” “Must’ve Never Met You,” “Beautiful Crazy,” “A Long Way,” and “She Got the Best of Me.”

“She Got the Best of Me” was released originally on the deluxe album and was Luke Combs’ fourth song to hit number one on the charts. The song depicts a harsh breakup that he can’t get out of his head. Combs put his all into the relationship and it still didn't work out, so now he uses it for inspiration in his music.

I picked myself up off the floor
And found something new worth living for
And a, old dusty hand-me-down six string
And a couple chords

I’m getting over her
A little more with every song
So sing along

“Beautiful Crazy” was also released on the deluxe album and remains Combs’ most popular song. “Beautiful Crazy” is your classic love song. It’s Luke describing his fiancée and how all of her imperfections are the things that he loves about her.

Beautiful, crazy, she can’t help but amaze me
The way that she dances, ain’t afraid to take chances
And wears her heart on her sleeve
Yeah, she’s crazy but her crazy’s beautiful to me

Luke Combs winning the 2018 iHeartradio Music Award for New Country Artist of the Year.

Luke Combs went from being a nobody to being the face of country in a matter of days all because of this album. “I’ve always been a super regular guy,” he says. “I think there’s kind of a comfortability with me onstage — and I think my cool factor is not having one. I’m not extra cool or extra different. I’m an honest dude, not trying to be anything other than who I am.”

--

--