FIFA Unites the World

BryceSain
The Green Light
Published in
3 min readDec 31, 2021

How Soccer creates a global brotherhood.

MBAPPE FIFA 21 & 22 Cover Athlete of The Year

FIFA is the best sports video game of all time and the most popular sports game in the world by a large margin. The latest FIFA had 1.5 million copies in the first month with around 46 trillion minutes that were played. That is 87.8 million years that were played just on this game! With this being said, yes, it is the number 1 video game that is sold worldwide every year.

This game is so popular that FIFA players around the world will compete in tournaments not only to crown the one true champion but to also hit the game lottery. Kids, adults, all ages will compete in these tournaments and if they are good enough, they will make it their full-time job. Over 100 million dollars a year is won in these tournaments. The game fosters a friendly competitive spirit, brotherhood, and friendships that will last a lifetime.

Playing Co-op tournaments with Friends

With FIFA being a sports game, it always comes with the competitive nature to compete against one another. Whether it is for pride, millions of dollars from tournaments, or even just to have fun with some buddies that like soccer or just love to compete.

My whole life I grew up in a huge football household in a small little American football town. I was told soccer was for girls and wimpy men. I did not realize how wrong everyone was in my town until I got out of that town and started to meet boys who played soccer and told me to get this soccer game called FIFA.

In game FIFA Bicycle Kick

After refusing for months and getting to know these dudes and becoming good friends with them I gave in. Keep in mind, I am a D1 American-football player who has no clue about the rules or in general, the sport of soccer. Around a day and a half into playing the game, I fell in love. FIFA’s incredible realism gives you a sense of what it’s like being on the field in a huge stadium scoring goals.

It has now given me the sense of how beautiful the game of soccer is. It is almost like an art, like when a guy kicks the ball across the field into another dude 360 flipping and kicking it into the goal. With all this being said, FIFA has opened my mind and created friendships that I never would have had. This is how FIFA has united and defined the World.

--

--