Ondrej Szkandera Travelled Nearly 5,000 Miles To Find A New Home In America

Ondrej Szkandera left his home in the Czech Republic in turn for studying abroad for a year — and he’s having the experience of a lifetime.

Rocky Hansen
The Green Light
4 min readMar 30, 2022

--

This is it. Ondrej Szkandera holds a letter in his hand that contains the fate of the next year of his life — where he will be going for his year of studying abroad. After many months of interviews, applications, and questionnaires, this is what it all led up to.

He anxiously opens the letter, not knowing what to expect, but excited for the opportunity this letter held. He learns he’s being sent to a small boarding school in Asheville, North Carolina, called “Christ School.”

Curious, Ondrej does an online search for Christ School, and finds the school website. In big bold letters, he sees, “WE’LL GET YOU READY.” He scrolls down, and then sees something appalling: the school is a boarding and day school for boys.

“What the…?”

Ondrej’s new home.

Each year, the ASSIST program (American Secondary Schools for International Students and Teachers), a non-profit student exchange organization, sends 150+ students to the finest boarding schools in America. Ondrej Szkandera was one of those students this year. Ondrej hails from the Czech Republic, and it is his first time seeing America.

The mission of the ASSIST Program is to give international students the experience of a lifetime by sending them abroad for a year, and for them to contribute something to the finest American boarding schools. Ondrej is doing both of those things. He took the reigns of the chess club, and has gotten involved with activities such as cross country, swimming, track and field, and more.

Ondrej (right) running cross country.

I wanted to interview Ondrej because I wanted to gain some perspective on the ASSIST experience, and I wanted to learn a little bit about his chess background. His chess background intrigued me because I had heard by word of mouth and by getting destroyed firsthand experience that he’s really good at chess.

Our conversation has been edited for clarity and length.

So, how did you find out about the ASSIST Program?

I learned about the program from a counselor at my school. She sent mail to all the students at my school, presenting the opportunity of studying abroad for a year. I saw that opportunity and took it.

What drew you to that opportunity?

The idea of studying abroad. I’m an explorer, so I wanted to try something new, something incredible, and ASSIST just seemed like the perfect opportunity for it.

How did you find out that you were being sent to Christ School?

I found out through the mail. They sent a letter that told me I was being sent to Christ School. After that, I did a quick online search to see where I was being sent.

I’m sure that you were shocked that you were being sent to an all-boys boarding school.

Yes. I wondered: what did I tell the ASSIST people that they would think an all-boys boarding school would be the best fit for me?

So, I hear that you are quite the chess player. Is there any unique way you got into chess?

It was my school. The school I go to in the Czech Republic has a very long chess tradition, and they sent people into Kindergarten classes to “recruit” people to play chess. That’s how I got into it.

Do you like to play competitively?

When I was younger, I played in a lot of tournaments. But as I grew older, I didn’t have the time, so I didn’t play as much. Because of that, all of my friends got better than me, and I sort of got left behind.

Have your plans for the future changed at all after being in America for half a year now?

Definitely. I’ve been thinking about it a lot. It really depends on what I want to study, though. For example, if I wanted to study law, I would do it in the Czech Republic since that is where I would be practicing it. But, I like it here, and I’m definitely considering studying somewhere outside of my home.

Have you been enjoying the experience so far?

Yes. I can definitely see why I’m here. The outdoors, the sports, it all makes sense now that I look back on it.

--

--