Lessons from a vegan January

Christian Aid
Christian Aid
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2017

Louise Skinner gives us an update on what she’s learned from going vegan this January, and about the importance of teamwork.

‘If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together’.

Well, my month-long commitment to veganism is coming to an end. It has been a challenging experience at times — especially when the cheese withdrawals kicked in. But I’ve also found it enlightening and rewarding, and seen the value of working together when you want to make a big change.

I have learned a lot, of course with home cooking; discovering animal-free foods and vegan alternatives to dairy products. Who knew you could make a decent béchamel sauce with soya milk and dairy-free spread?!

I have tried innovative, wholly vegan restaurants and, thanks to a handy app, I’ve discovered that a whole host of beers are in fact vegan friendly, despite being told by cynics that most beer is filtered through isinglass (dried swim bladders of fish, yuck).

Mindful consumption

As I started to consider and research what I was consuming, whether finding out if my drink may have passed through dried swim bladders of fish before it reached my glass, or deciding against pouring another animal’s milk into my cup of tea, it became apparent how bizarre some of the traditions many of us take to be the norm are.

By taking some time to remove myself from those instinctual, everyday habits, I’ve become more mindful of what I’m spending my money on and putting into my body. I’ve eaten more natural foods (aside from vegan-friendly crisps) and I’ve taken small steps out of my culinary comfort zone.

I’ve also been conscious of the bigger picture, and how my individual consumption impacts the environment and people across the world affected by climate change.

Whilst I’m not sure I have the willpower to live in a completely cheese-free world, I will continue to reduce my cows’ milk intake; soya and nut milks are delightful in coffee and on cereals. And I will continue to think twice about how my food and drink has reached me; how the processes impact animals, people and the climate.

Strength in numbers

I think what has given me strength to persevere with this challenge is by doing it as part of a team, with my husband. Together we have sought out new recipes, ingredients and places to eat, and together we have spurred each other on to keep to our promise.

Sign up for a Big Shift training near you

It’s no secret that team work is the key to making change happen, as a Kenyan proverb states:

‘If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together’.

You can be part of a global movement to move away from fossil fuels; get involved with the Big Shift campaign.

We’re holding training events to equip and inspire you to help build the campaign where you are, to get the banks you invest your money in to stop financing fossil fuels and to instead invest in clean energy.

Find an event near you

--

--

Christian Aid
Christian Aid

An agency of more than 40 churches in Britain and Ireland wanting to end poverty around the world.