What Can We Do To Help Someone In Poverty?

Help one another, this is what Jesus Teaches us. This is what I do and I do it with all my heart.

We often come across pictures like the one above, pictures of young starving children who lack resources and we begin asking a lot of questions in our minds. How did these children get like this? How can we help them? Sometimes even I want to help them but I do not know how. If you are reading this poverty has affected you in some way and you are probably curious how you can play your part in this vicious cycle.

Poverty has constantly been changing over time. In the late 1950s, the poverty rate for Americans was 22.4%, which is about 39.5 million people. By 1973 the poverty rate decreased to about 11.1 percent or 22.9 million individuals [1]. This number remained between 11.1 and 12.6 up until the 1980s where it increased to roughly 15% or 35 million individuals. However, in 2014, 14.8% of all people lived in poverty [1]. If you are like me then these numbers are jumping off the page at you. How can so many people be living in poverty and yet no one seems to be doing anything about it? I believe one reason could be because Americans are not informed how the US actually measures poverty.

Below you will see a chart with some numbers on here that may help in understanding things.

2015 Poverty Thresholds, Selected Family Types

Single Individual

Under 65 years $ 12,331

65 years & older $ 11,367

Single Parent

One child $ 16,337

Two children $ 19,096

Two Adults

No children $ 15,871

One child $ 19,078

Two children $ 24,036

Three children $ 28,286

As you can see, poverty is something that is very serious and I believe it is not something we want to approach blindly. It is important that we educate ourselves so we can be more equipped to playing our part in ending poverty.

We can’t help everyone, but… everyone can help someone.

Poverty is one of those things that we all know is a problem. Think with me for a second, was there ever a time you came across a situation like in the picture to the left? Most likely your answer is yes. We all have encountered poverty in some way and sometimes we encounter poverty more than we would like to admit.

So back to my question, what can we do to help someone in poverty, the first thing was educating ourselves, and the second is not ignoring homeless people.

Last year I went on a trip with a group of about 20 individuals to Montreal Canada. We were there studying and learning about their culture and the needs that were present at that time. On this trip I was really challenged in ways I never imagined. I often find myself saying I want to help the homeless, yet my actions speak differently. How often can you think of coming across a homeless person and turning your head or walking the other way? If I am being honest this is what I do a lot, especially when I was in Canada. Why in Quebec it almost seemed around every corner I would hear things like “spare change?” “Got a dollar?” and “please help”. What is your initial reaction when you hear these things? Do we acknowledge them or do we pretend like we don’t see?

I remember one particular instance in Canada where this older gentleman continued to follow our group around asking us if we had money or if we could help. Many of us looked the other way (including me) but one gentleman in my group was bold enough to stand up and offer to buy him breakfast. This homeless man accepted his offer and a few of us went into a nearby restaurant and purchased him a coffee and a big plate of food. My attitude was forever changed for helping the poor that day after seeing the impact one simple meal had on this man’s life.

Recently I read an article titled Do You Ignore Homeless People and it really challenged me in my behavior towards them.

Unfortunately in the US when many of us see a picture like this we are quick to begin making perceptions like “they’re just lazy”, “they’re just looking for a handout” and show little to no compassion for people struggling. In this article Robert Prasch said “It’s easier psychologically to tell yourself, ‘Look, I could never be that because that person is different from me,’” he said. “So I think people do that. It’s instinctual almost. …And maybe it’s a microcosm of survivor’s guilt. People can’t look at their own luck in that moment. Otherwise, it’s frightening. You have to think seriously about, ‘Well, what does that mean if that could be me.’” [2]

So why am I saying all this? Because I believe it is important to examine ourselves in order to know how to help someone in poverty. But the real question is, what can we actually do?

First, as a Christian, we need to know what God commands of us in response to poverty. All throughout scripture you will see the Bible is full of passages that reveal God’s heart for the poor and needy. God speaks often of the poor and need, He commands us to give generously to them and to speak up on their behalf. Proverbs 14:31 states “Whoever oppresses the poor shows contempt for their Maker, but whoever is kind to the needy honors God.”

You see it is clearly evident that we are called to do our part in poverty. Even from the beginning of creation, we can see God has had a heart for all people, including the poor. The verse above clearly states that being generous to the poor and needy honors God. Also, King Solomon states that “whoever hurts or oppresses the poor, also insults God.” So my point is, as Christians it is very important to care of those in need.

A kind gesture can reach a wound that only compassion can heal.

There are many things we can do to help someone in poverty. One thing we can do is look for simple ways to serve the people around us. Some things we can do is volunteer at an after school program, a soup kitchen, a community center or even simply buying food for someone on the street. Another thing we can do is work with organizations we trust like Compassion International [3]. This organization is committed to the local church and are faithfully proclaiming the gospel, even as they minister to the physical and relational needs of the poor. I myself sponsor a kid from Compassion International and ever since I have, it has been a complete life changing experience. Each month I get to give a little bit to a child in need, I get to write to them, encourage them, love them, and show them the Love of Christ. I also get to see how God transforms me and the child I sponsor in new and exciting ways. If you or a loved one are interested in impacting a child by giving a few dollars a month to a kid in need, I highly encourage you to pray about it, do your research, and consider look into an organization like Compassion International.

Lastly and most importantly, we can pray and trust God for the results. Ultimately our responsibility is not to end poverty, but to minister to those who are suffering while we are here on earth. The day is coming soon that Jesus will return, and when he does, He tells us “He will wipe every tear from our eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” All of these things will be gone, even poverty. Therefore, it is important we do what we can, pray, and trust God to take care of the results.

Resources:

http://www.npc.umich.edu/poverty/ [1]

http://www.alternet.org/poverty/psychology-behind-why-people-react-way-they-do-homeless-person-asking-help [2]

https://www.compassion.com/?referer=517193&gclid=CjwKEAiA6OnFBRDcgt7YmPKI33ESJACJoTJYzK9-hRmjPxGV4Jz9au37tKA0ng4jPDJyYlRKv-XB-BoCJ33w_wcB [3]

--

--