How Do You Respond to Being Persecuted as a Christian?

Diane Cubitt
Christian Response Forum
3 min readJan 3, 2023
Pexels — Pixabay

“But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you”
Matthew 5:44

Over the past few years, I have witnessed things that if you had told me five years ago I would not have believed you. What I am talking about is how much Christians are persecuted for what they believe, despite the influence Christianity has on modern-day life, including our calendars and the basis for many legal and governmental systems. I came to Christianity nearly four years ago, finding Christ because I wanted to heal from my past abuse. Through building my relationship with Christ and in discovering the regenerative powers of prayer, I am very grateful for the restoration I am in the process of.

I never realised just how much hate, venom and judgement I and those around me would receive from people, just for choosing to bring Christ into my life. Much of this I have witnessed first-hand for nearly 2 years now with the online abuse that has been relentlessly ongoing since February 2021.

We have been on the receiving end of a smear campaign from ex-associates and toxic family members of the team at Lighthouse Global who, among other accusations thrown at us, have been abusing us because we have chosen to follow Christ, using that to call us a cult. Paul S. Waugh recently posted a response to this persecution on Twitter, saying that he will never become as hateful as those who have persecuted him and us.

John MacArthur, pastor at Grace Community Church in the USA has also had his fair share of persecution over the years. During a sermon, he shared how he responds to persecution:

What I really value about John MacArthur is his openness and honesty; he is dedicated to, and speaks, the truth. Because of that he is often attacked, despised, hated and even ridiculed or reviled for it, but his response is to forgive those who persecute him. He blesses them, saying, “Never take your own revenge”.

It has been hard for me to not want to react vengefully to those who have persecuted Paul and my brothers and sisters at Lighthouse, but what I have valued learning through these experiences is that it is better to forgive them and request blessings for them, in line with Christ’s example, even though it is harder to love those who persecute than it is to hate them.

Christ, while on the cross, prayed for those who persecuted and beat him:

“Forgive them, Father, for they know not what they do.”
~Luke 23:34

What I have appreciated recently, is starting to read the Bible, with the intention to read it all the way through and study it over the course of a year. As I progress in reading through it, one chapter and verse at a time, I have found it valuable through the paradigm of learning about my ancestors, for everything that is in the Bible is about my history. Those who wrote it were persecuted and killed for it, and so I’m finding myself filled with gratitude as I immerse in each day’s pages of scripture.

Have you ever read the Bible in a year? Is reading the Bible supported by a community something that you would value? If it is, please feel free to contact us. and one of the members of the team will be happy to answer any questions you may have. If there is anything in this article or video you would like to discuss, we would be more than happy to help.

YouTube | Medium | LinkedIn | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Paul S. Waugh on Twitter

--

--

Diane Cubitt
Christian Response Forum

I became part of Lighthouse Global to develop and grow, to be a leader if myself and others through being mentored myself so that I can mentor others as well