Empowering Leaders

#teamchristine
Christine for Lexington

--

I’ve spent my life being a leader, and I’ve worked for years with others to demonstrate their own flavor of leadership.

What’s better than empowering my neighbors to identify their dreams, plan their achievements, and enjoy their successes?

I am on the Step-by-Step Board, where we provide real assistance to single moms still in adolescence. We offer the tools and the resources to navigate life as parent, find meaningful employment, and manage their finances. I especially love witnessing the moms who have themselves “graduated” the program, and who volunteer their own time to mentor new moms.

Through my 7 years in the Junior League, I have the opportunity to roll up my sleeves and lend a hand to whole host of different organizations across the city. Several times a year, I serve a few meals at the Ronald McDonald House, and I have done other Junior League work with the Hope Center and The Nest.

Meeting the other women in this terrific program has been an inspiring way to consult and learn of new ways to strengthen the City and fill the social service needs that a growing city like ours has.

My time on attorney-related boards and committees have also granted me the ability to connect with young men and women on their rights and responsibilities at age 18 through U@18. I’ve been able to participate in our middle school Bully Proof program.

And as an African-American, female attorney in the South, I understand the importance of my simply showing up is to young people of color and girls. So my time in our Women in the Law program has been particularly meaningful, as I’ve been able to mentor future female attorneys.

I value community and giving my time to empower these neighbors is a reflection of that value. It’s been an incredibly fulfilling way to serve.

--

--