Great Summer Reads in Historical Fiction — Discover a New Author Today!

Chris Nykoluk
Christine’s Universe
5 min readJun 16, 2022
Photo credit: Eric McLean on Unsplash

In the past, my favorite reading genres were non-fiction and adventure biographies. I especially enjoy memoirs about long distance walks/treks and mountain adventures. A few years ago, I was surprised when a bookstore clerk told me that fiction always outsold other genres. She explained that this was because most people read books to escape. What had I been missing out on all these years?

I began to read more historical fiction even though I am more fascinated about the future than the past. However, well researched and written fiction has the potential to reveal the emotional elements of history. What was the story behind the story? Historical fiction can also help readers remember the specific order of events. An impressive story arc plus development of compelling characters makes for captivating reading.

In Canada we’re blessed to have many talented historical fiction writers, here are just a few titles that I have enjoyed.

Guy Vanderhaeghe’s background as a historian helps to strengthen his stories. I enjoyed his book The Englishman’s Boy (1996). It deals with the events of the Cypress Hills Massacre (1873) as told 50 years later to a young screenwriter in Hollywood by the last living survivor of the massacre. The surprise ending made a powerful impression on me and helped me understand Saskatchewan’s settler and First Nations history more fully. 10/10

I recently read Eva Stachniak’s book Empress of the Night (2014). Eva was born in Poland but immigrated to Canada, and taught English and humanities at Sheridan College in Oakville, Ontario. Her book is about Catherine The Great, a rather odd historical figure who turned the traditional expectation of women on its head. The story is written in “backwards time,” Catherine remembering key events of her life from her deathbed. This was an intriguing way to present both the character and historical events in an appealing format. 9/10.

I gave Nancy Richter’s book The Imposter Bride (2014) a 9.5/10 rating. Her story takes place after WW2. The lead character is a Jewish woman who takes on another woman’s identity in order to marry a Canadian Jew so that she can escape war-torn Europe. I found the story arc unusual and informative. The plot was mysterious and I learned more about post WW2 hardship in Canada.

I discovered the next two books in the course of researching my upcoming novel.

If you’ve not already read it, and you’re interested in learning more about the early experiences of Ukrainian immigrants to Canada during the 1930’s, you might want to read Shandi Mitchell’s book Under This Unbroken Sky (2009). I found it compelling, informative, and quite tragic. The storytelling is magnificent, in no small part aided by Mitchell’s award-winning Canadian film industry work. 10/10.

Blood and Salt, by Saskatchewan writer Brenda Sapergia, (2012) is a fictional account of Ukrainians held against their will in the Castle Mountain Internment Camp, written from one man’s perspective. Sapergia undertook significant research to make the story as life-like as possible. 10/10.

I have never travelled to Eastern Canada but would very much like to. The following novels stand out in my mind as being impressive reads.

Annie Proulx, although not a Canadian writer, spent many years in Eastern Canada. Apparently, she is one of the first authors to write authentically about early Newfoundland life. One of her books, The Shipping News, tells a story about a starkly beautiful outport full of rich characters through which I learned more about Newfoundland culture (and slang!)

Proulx’s book Barkskins is an intimidating length (at 736 pages), but her well-researched story about the decimation of the Eastern Forest by early French immigrants was powerful. These entrepreneurs had heartbreaking difficult lives. If you love trees, you will like this book. The story spans 300 years and ends with climate change in the forest. I rated The Shipping News 10/10 and Barkskins 9/10.

I first saw Michael Crummey interviewed on a Wordfest podcast and became interested in his writing. His recent book, The Innocents, (2020) was written in just a few short months. A young brother and sister are orphaned in an isolated cove on Newfoundland’s northern coastline. They survive despite the threat of starvation and minimal external contact with other humans. Together they grow up, struggling to make meaning of things that no one has been able to teach them. This book contains some difficult topics but is spellbinding. Crummey created the story using some rather odd historical information that he came across. Shocking but good. 10/10.

I know she’s not Canadian, but the next book is an important one. My brother-in-law’s family immigrated from Spain in the 1950’s in an effort to escape Franco’s brutal repression. A few years ago, I’d spent a month walking through rural villages on the Camino de Santiago across the north of Spain. These two experiences piqued my interest in Spain’s turbulent past. Isabelle Allende’s new book (2021) A Long Petal of The Sea helped me place historical events since the events and many of the individuals she wrote about were real. It was interesting to get a sense of what the moment-to-moment life of Spanish refugees was like and how terribly the French treated them. I found it intriguing that the famous passionate poet Pablo Neruda arranged and organized the transport of 2000 refugees from Spain to Chile. Allende is a wonderful storyteller and I plan to read more of her books soon. 10/10.

Have you read any exceptional historical fiction novels recently? I would love to hear about them.

My own historical fiction novel will be published in fall 2022. It is called Heart Stones — A Ukrainian Story of Love and Hope. It will be available either on Amazon or by ordering through your local bookstore. Find me on Facebook at Chris Nykoluk, Author.

--

--

Chris Nykoluk
Christine’s Universe

I’m interested in Ukrainian history, long distance hikes, and writing.