of teaching

Kelly Wong
christmasallaround
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2016
San Francisco shines and sparkles everywhere during the holiday season!

As a teacher in making, I like asking a lot of my mentor teachers how they got into teaching and what motivates them. “You have to have a lot of patience and care for what you do, and you gotta love it. It isn’t going to be easy, but when the shiny and sparkly moments come, they’re going to be really shiny and sparkly, and will remind you of why you’re doing this in the first place.”

We were asked to write a manifesto in my Education class this semester, reminding us of why we’re here and doing what we do as educators, because sometimes we’ll need it in the tougher times where things aren’t so sparkly. Here is my manifesto, and a glimpse of my current goals, motivations, reservations, and hopes as an educator.

Friend, resource, role model, educator, facilitator, what I hope to be.

Patience, understanding, care, belief in students’ abilities

Approachability versus credibility,

A balance much needed between both,

Work in progress to expand my voice and presence in the classroom is needed for growth,

My love for fostering a positive environment

And working with students

To help develop values and skills to guide them towards independence

Will not only be based off of academic excellence

But the values they hold and how they treat others

Will be equally as important.

Everyone is an educator in one way or another

The world needs them, and for us to help, inspire, connect with one another

There is always a craving for pursuing the wide amount of passions we hold

What does it mean to be bold?

Art, design, and education

Will there be a way to combine them all?

In life, can there be multiple calls?

In teaching, some reservations I hold

Is my ability to make a difference, having a positive impact

On my students.

Kindness, honesty, perseverance, and curiosity

In my students is what I hope to nurture

And I will

Look forward to seeing the future generation

As loving, caring, intelligent souls

Making the world a better place.

--

--