MealPal: the sure fire way to streamline your lunch options

Christopher Agnus 🐟
TLDR: Christopher Lam
3 min readApr 25, 2018

What is MealPal?

MealPal is a lunch subscription plan that I have been on for the last few months. And personally, I think its fantastic for what it offers.

Pick the beef Pho near Railway Square!

The concept is pretty simple: everyday before 5pm, the ‘Kitchen’ on the app opens and you can select from over 100 restaurants/eateries around the Sydney CBD/North Sydney to grab lunch the next day. You can choose from light, medium or heavy meals from rice paper rolls to Pho noodles. All you have to do to pick up your lunch is to come to the restaurant at your chosen lunch time and location and the food should be ready to be collected (no queues!).

Otherwise, some places will cook it immediately when you arrive.

The list of restaurants you can pick from

My experience has been excellent so far. I usually select a random restaurant near the place I am working and just show up. Its great for visiting new places to eat at every day. For someone who is constantly busy, Mealpal means that I don’t need to worry about making lunch. It takes away decision-paralysis by making it easy to pick somewhere to eat, yet, save heaps on spending on lunch and waiting in queues.

Some things to note: lunches need to be locked in after 5pm the day before or before 9.30am. Don’t worry you will get an email reminder. For some busy days where I would miss my pickup time, I was still able to pick up my lunch.

If there was anything that could be improved, I think it would be more awesome if there were options for restaurants outside of the CBD in locations such as Parramatta, Newtown, Redfern and (especially) Broadway due to the UTS/USyd university population nearby.

Each lunch depends on which plan you pick, but it means I would generally save an average of $6 on a full-priced lunch. Each lunch is $7.49 on the 20 lunch/mth plan or $7.99 on the 12 lunch/mth plan.

Sign up and check it out.

For a limited time until 27th April 11:59pm, signup using this link and receive a $50 Visa giftcard: https://mealpal.com/christopherlam4/

--

--

Christopher Agnus 🐟
TLDR: Christopher Lam

Hi, I’m Christopher (Agnus) Lam. I write about startups, entrepreneurship and marketing.