A positive week after making a difficult decision — A 30 Minute Life

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally
Published in
4 min readMay 23, 2021

--

The last week has been much easier since I stopped writing a post every day (you can read why I made this decision here). Suddenly I had time to do some exercise, head outside for a scooter ‘walk’ and yesterday we went to Galway to collect my new glasses. Everything happened with much less pressure, a life suitable for someone with a chronic illness.

Writing an abstract

During the week I finalised an abstract for the ECTRIMS conference in October. This is a European conference all about Multiple Sclerosis. As the trial I am working on (you can learn more about it here) is a new therapy for treating cognitive problems experienced by people living with MS, we felt it would be great to share what we are learning. Each member of the team has submitted a 2,500 character (including spaces) application to the conference on our area of interest.

My talk (if it is accepted) will be about the collective experience of all the patients involved. I am the Embedded Patient Researcher and we have a Patient Advisory Panel, together we are working to make the experience of the trial for the people involved in getting the treatment, as positive an experience as possible. Ultimately, we hope, this will lead to a better therapy. Time will tell.

--

--

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally

Having lived with chronic illness for more than a quarter of a century I am now sharing my experiences. I post on www.a30minutelife.com, Facebook and Twitter