How I make a difficult decision because of chronic illness — A 30 Minute Life

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally
Published in
3 min readMay 16, 2021

--

On the 24th April I decided to embark on a massive challenge, to write a blog post every day for 100 days. Over the last 23 days I have written 21 posts, missing two days. One of which was yesterday. I have really enjoyed the process of having to write, share the content, and then respond to any reactions to my posts. It has been a positive experience.

You will notice I am using the past tense. Unfortunately, I have had to make a decision. This is part of life, any life. We all try to do what is best, both for us, and those around us. For the last three weeks I was writing and this process took much more out of my day than I expected. No matter what I did, it took about an hour to write and share a post. If I was healthy, I would have been able to absorb this, by having a little less leisure time, or cutting something else from my schedule.

To achieve my objective I ended up not doing some other tasks, plus my physiotherapy took a big hit. I need to exercise every day, to keep moving my legs, build upper body strength and get some cardiovascular exercise. Blogging took away from this, resulting in worsening mobility, increased weight and lost energy. Long term this will be detrimental to me physically, and potentially, mentally. These are some very negative impacts of writing a few blog…

--

--

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally

Having lived with chronic illness for more than a quarter of a century I am now sharing my experiences. I post on www.a30minutelife.com, Facebook and Twitter