Invisible Symptoms: The impact of a delay on pain and mobility — A 30 Minute Life

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally
Published in
5 min readMay 12, 2021

--

Medical appointments are a continuous part of living with chronic illness. Yesterday I had to visit the optician about getting new glasses. Usually it is a 30–45 minute visit. First the usual testing of my eyesight, then a scan of the back of my eye and then deciding on a pair of glasses, or in my case two pairs. This is just the appointment. However, i spent nearly three hours at the appointment, due to some delays.

This delay had a massive impact on me. Although I look fit and healthy, able to hold a normal conversation, I live with MS and persistent post trauma headaches. The trip to the appointment took 1.5 hours, plus the return trip making three hours of driving in a car which is not suited to my MS. Added to this is the concentration of the day. This combination resulted in a significant increase in pain and a severe decline in mobility.

When we arrived home, I very slowly hobbled into the house, sat on the stairlift, and went to bed. It was all I could do. The delay caused my pain to increase by 60%. This has an impact on me today, and probably tomorrow. I know I could be angry for the delay. It would seem rational, and I could be furious with the world. Probably justified. But I didn’t fall down that rabbit hole. My journaling and meditation help with this. I just keep…

--

--

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally

Having lived with chronic illness for more than a quarter of a century I am now sharing my experiences. I post on www.a30minutelife.com, Facebook and Twitter