Pain is expensive: A day in my life — A 30 Minute Life

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally
Published in
4 min readMay 14, 2021

--

The last week has been very busy for me. I have had three trips to Galway and I am up against deadlines on a few projects. So I have had to be very careful about pacing, which I am succeeding in, mainly. Yesterday, I decided to write a very short post, so I would not push myself over a point of no return. The skill of learning when to say “No” should be taught in schools, as I have had difficulty with this concept over the years. Now I have little choice, so I have taught myself. With more than one hiccup along the way.

Yesterday I was fatigued. The pool of energy was very low. I attended a meeting for the university and another with IPPOSI. This was my limit for the day, or so I thought. On Wednesday, our broadband was upgraded to fibre, and I hoped this would be the end of variable download speeds, and a clearer signal for the TV. Our old speed was about 50mb download and 20mb upload, which was good, when it worked. Over the last few years several technicians have come to resolve the problem, with little success. My feeling is the cabling between our home and the exchange was bad. Fibre should bring a new direct signal from the exchange to our home, with no line sharing. All good?

When the installer left on Wednesday we had no TV, and a call to the company on Wednesday evening could not fix the problem, and so yesterday…

--

--

Robert Joyce
chronic-ally

Having lived with chronic illness for more than a quarter of a century I am now sharing my experiences. I post on www.a30minutelife.com, Facebook and Twitter