My productivity depends on a clear strategy.

Milestone Mondays

Kim Goulbourne
Chronic Creator
2 min readJul 11, 2016

--

Current Project:
Bitter Renter, the no-nonsense guide for first-time renters in NYC.

After my last big project it took me a few weeks before I was ready to take on anything else. And that was new to me. I typically move on pretty quickly but for some reason I just couldn’t fully start my next project. Last week I discovered why. I can’t start without a fully formalized vision and clear strategy (obviously *facepalm*).

For Bitter Renter I already knew “why” I wanted to create it but I couldn’t settle on “how” I could make it stand out. Last week I finally nailed the strategy along with a pretty sweet flow chart and suddenly, I had my drive back.

From whiteboard to Sketch.

Depending on the task at hand, I typically enjoy working on my whiteboard first then digitizing the work later.

Once I got the kinks worked out of the entire flow, I spent a little time thinking about content since it’s a key component. I haven’t finalized any copy but I have a general idea of what it will say.

Since I also work full-time, I waited till the weekend to start doing the first mockups in sketch. I always tackle the logo and homepage first because for me it sets the tone for the entire project going forward. Here are some preview shots of where I’m at.

Pending design previews.

Type is always the hardest task for me but I think I’m finally set on Poppins for the headlines and Source Sans Pro for the body copy.

I’m pretty happy with the progress thus far and I’m hoping to finish designing the entire site by the weekend.

Have fun creating,
– Kim

Kim is a chronic creator, designer and coder. Maker at @bybourn, curator of Hashtags Unplugged and creator behind foundermantras.com , sendthanks.to and hshtags.com.

--

--