My Longest Creative Block

Kim Goulbourne
Chronic Creator
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2017
Image from: agraphicdesignblog.com

This past week has been disappointing to say the least. I’ve never felt more stuck than being in a highway traffic jam that barely moves every 5 minutes.

Creative blocks are nothing new for me, but this is longest I’ve ever experienced one (that I can remember at least). I typically have a breakthrough a few days after stepping away and clearing my head. This time however, I feel like I’m constantly banging my head against a wall and not even making a dent. This sucks. Not just because it’s frustrating but because when I have deadlines to meet I feel the need to force myself to magically create something that’s somehow better than the last body of work I produced. I’m convinced that’s not a thing.

In retrospect, I wonder if I’ve ever actually broken through a creative block in the past or if I just settled on the first thing I finally produced so I could just move the ef on. Either way, what I do know is that creative blocks are paralyzing. They make for great reasons to procrastinate and make me feel incompetent. The phrase itself feels like an excuse for when you’re doing something wrong but in all fairness, can’t pinpoint what it is.​

I’m pretty annoyed at my brain for putting me in this position and not giving me a choice. But still I hold onto hope that some moment soon, I’ll have a breakthrough and I’ll look back on this past week and laugh at the absurdity of it all. Or maybe I’ll just be angry at myself for letting it carry on that long, as if I had a choice. I guess we’ll see.

(singing) “Don’t cry for me Argentinaaaaaa”

Have you experienced creative blocks before? I’d love to hear how you’ve pushed through them. 🙏

Work hard. Play hard.
– Kim Goulbourne aka “Bourn”

(Originally posted on Chronic Creator)

Kim Goulbourne aka”Bourn” is a chronic creator, designer and coder. Curator of Hashtags Unplugged and creator behind morebybourn.com, electionrewind.com, bitterrenter.nyc, foundermantras.com, sendthanks.to and hshtags.com.

Did this resonate with you? Tap the ❤ button below so others can find it too. :)

--

--