How Participating in a Facebook Trend Improved My Self-Esteem

Grayson Schultz
Chronic Sex
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2016

Now, I’m not normally a person who buys into those copy-and-paste statuses on social media. However, a few days ago, I came across a friend’s status on Facebook:

HELLO EVERYONE! I want to try out a little confidence boosting experiment and feel free to steal the idea for your status but I would be honored if you would tell me something you like about me and I shall reciprocate and tell you something I like about you. Spread the love!

Okay, I thought, I need a pick-me-up. I’ll buy in.

It was late and I figured that it would be one of those statuses that I, as a millennial, hate — the kind no one comments on. I was not prepared for what came next…

Things that I always thought made me stand out for the wrong reasons were pointed out by others as strong points:

  • “you embrace uniqueness… You also don’t take shit from anyone for any reason.”
  • “That you advocate so much for others, yet still take so much time to take care of YOU. I love you for loving yourself.”
  • “I love how just thinking about you makes me smile. You have an infectious personality and are a joy to learn from.”
  • “I absolutely love how much you love others, and take all the challenges life throws your way as opportunities to learn and grow as a person, and then to advocate and help others! You’re so driven to give back to this world no matter what and it’s freaking amazing!”
  • “Your openness and determination to discuss intimacy and sexuality on public platforms in meaningful ways!”
  • “I love that you’re always willing to help someone feel less alone.”
  • “Your vulnerability and honesty are inspiring to me!”

I was really taken aback.

People like these things that I’ve spent so much energy and time to cover up?

There are obviously times where my personality has started to shine through the BS, the introversion caused by growing up in an abusive household, my own unwillingness to be honest with myself and others…

I am unapologetically me at times, helping others and speaking out against all the icky
-isms and -ists — even when it does the opposite of making me friends.

I talk openly about sexuality, disability, sexism, and human rights.

I send Snapchats of my guinea pigs, me with puppy dog faces or clomping around in high heels sounding like a horse…

And y’all like this weirdo?

What?

My self-esteem just went up by like 40 points.

I didn’t think anyone liked the real me like that.

Just for that…

I promise to continue being genuine and completely myself.

--

--

Grayson Schultz
Chronic Sex

he/him | DEIB | writer, activist, educator, researcher, polymath | disabled, neurodivergent, transgender, queer | visit graysongoal.carrd.co for more