What Does A Successful Day Look Like?

(When you have fatigue)

Katherine Katherine
Chronically Cross-cultural
2 min readAug 17, 2021

--

Photo by Shane on Unsplash

“Well, that was a successful day,” I thought to myself as the kids and I headed home in a tuk-tuk.

At 5 pm in Cambodia, the sun is already setting. With the spectacular rainy season clouds and the tall palm trees, there is enough to distract me from all the motorbikes that are zooming and weaving around us.

My big achievement for the day had been lying down for 2.5 hours.

Yes, congratulations to me for resting from 12.30 until 3 pm. Having time to do that meant that I had a bit more energy and concentration for the one-hour visit with friends in the late afternoon.

Although my iron levels are in normal range now I feel like my brain fog is getting worse, it is so frustrating trying to interact with people when it takes so long to think. Hence, a long nap time to ensure I was feeling well enough to take the kids out.

It is one year since I started noticing fatigue. And since it is my fatigue-iversary, I guess I’ve been noticing these things. I probably would not have called a two-and-a-half-hour rest a successful day before I was sick!

Written September 2019

--

--

Katherine Katherine
Chronically Cross-cultural

Australian in Asia. Chronic illness. Cross-cultural/expat life. Christian. Homeschooling.