About Chronically Ridiculous

Diane Wilder
Chronically Ridiculous
3 min read3 days ago

--

Photo by Maria Cortes on Unsplash

When you have a chronic illness, chaos often ensues. Good chaos, bad chaos, bleak and depressing chaos — you name it, it all happens.

Chronically Ridiculous welcomes memoirs, personal essays, poetry, and fiction from anyone who is impacted by chronic illness. What kind of chronic illness? Any kind. Physical, mental, spiritual, or existential. Serious or funny. The kind where your friend or family has it.

Write about anything. This space is for you.

If you’d like to share your stories here, and I hope you do, please email chronic.diane.wilder@gmail.com with a link to a draft story.

About the Founding Editors: Diane Wilder and Elle Becker

Diane. My name is Diane Wilder and I have Chronic Epstein Barr Virus (CEBV), Mast Cell Activation Syndrome (MCAS), and Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS). It’s a lot. It’s stupid and annoying, but I’ve also met some of the best people because of my invisible illnesses, including my doctors.

I wrote about my chronic conditions on The Memoirist and Age of Empathy and the response has been heartening and surprising. So many people said they understood, they struggle with POTS too, or just said hello. The community here is amazing, and Chronically Ridiculous hopes to build a space to foster it further.

--

--

Diane Wilder
Chronically Ridiculous

Mom, writer, and outdoor enthusiast with POTS, chronic EBV, and overactive mast cells. Founder of Chronically Ridiculous. Editor for The Memoirist.