My Father Ruined His Proudest Moment

The argument was over the bill.

Sam Ripples
Chronicles of a Lostgirl

--

The campus unfurled past my car windows in facades of pristine red brick and graceful nineteenth century arches, towering and ancient live oaks swaying their green ground-spilling fingertips of Spanish moss in the strange Tallahassee wind. It was my last time driving through the grounds of alma mater, Florida State University, and I was filled with the sour tang of bittersweetness.

Four years. Four of the happiest, the most psychedelic, the strangest, maturing, the growing years. Dancing beneath the church spires of ages-old pines and live oaks, my whole spirit overflowing and my hoop in perfect grammar with my ever-moving body. Learning to be and discovering who truly lurked beneath my breastbone, a time of fullness and a time to find my place in the puzzle of existence.

I will never not miss it.

My family was taking me out to an Italian restaurant before graduation, and the bittersweetness in me was also for them. All I wanted, all I’d asked, was for the two sides of the family to go out to dinner together. For once in my life, I wanted everyone to be together.

It was the first time, and the last time.

I had a dream once, of a long table, like the Mad Hatter’s tea party in Alice in Wonderland. My…

--

--