The Denver Botanic Gardens Are Actually Eden

Take a trip to paradise in the midst of the city.

Sam Ripples
Chronicles of a Lostgirl

--

Denver Botanic Gardens. Photo taken by author.

A Visit to Eden

If I looked down at my skirts and suddenly found myself dressed as Alice in Wonderland, I wouldn’t have been surprised. The entrance to the Denver Botanic Gardens is that magical.

As you round the corner from the gift shop near the gates, a majestic sight awaits. Endless pathways leading towards hidden canopies and rare flower exhibits stem out from the main path, the flora waving their happy greenery along with the mild wind. Each walkway is lined with a myriad of different species: from sunflowers to prickle-pear cacti, the variety was overwhelming. And above it all towers the giant greenhouse, its crystal-shaped glass panes swelling with sunshine, beckoning visitors to uncover its forested mysteries within.

Although it was outrageously hot, especially with a heavy cloth mask over my face to protect myself and others from the pandemic, I wanted to stay forever and explore the secrets of the Denver Botanic Gardens.

Love the little Venus fly traps! Photo by author.

--

--