7 thoughts after 7 days: La Paz, Bolivia

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
3 min readMay 12, 2016

We made it to Bolivia. Bo-li-vi-a. Can you believe it?! I barely can.

It’s been a whirlwind of two months. The fact that we’re on our third is just ridiculous. I’m almost 1/4 through Remote Year. It’s scary and exciting all at the same time. I’m looking forward to what will come.

La Paz is a wild place. We’re at almost 12,000 ft (roughly 3,650 meters) and that shit is real. Here’s a little recap of my first week in (and around) La Paz.

1. I can’t breathe. My head hurts.

Altitude is really real, y’all! I woke up the first two mornings h a splitting headache. I’m chewing coca leaves as fast as I can. They actually really help. I’m out of shape. I worry about my heart. But TBH, this city is unreal. It’s amazing I get to live here for a month.

2. Gratefulness changes things.

I was recently introduced to an email “app” called Humanize. Humanize emails you every day asking you what you’re grateful for. It doesn’t have to be ‘life,’ or anything grand. It can be a cup of coffee you had or the killer sunset you experienced last night.

It’s changed the way that I look at my daily life and makes me more conscious of special moments that make me feel happy. I believe it’s changed my overall mindset in just ~21 days using it.

3. There’s hot sauce!

I bought Louisiana hot sauce at the grocery store my first week here. So weird. They didn’t have that in Argentina. Definitely grateful for a little kick to go with my eggs.

4. I don’t know if I’m doing this “right.”

I think I’ve hit a weird point in Remote Year where it seems very comfortable, but I also don’t know if that comfort is good.

The first was a whirlwind of newness and I just wanted to play with my new friends and eat good food with good wine. Now, in La Paz, we’ve all settled into little group (but we’re still a big family) and I feel myself missing the first few weeks of happy uncomfort.

5. I’m glad a bought my Doc Martens.

But they’re also kind of unnecessary. And I overpaid.

6. Boy did I miss that mountain air.

After spending some time in Denver, Colorado last fall, I definitely have a soft spot for mountains and all that comes with them.

Being in a more nature-ish city makes me miss going on hikes with my pup, enjoying the sunset with my family (and a glass of wine), and California in general. Funny how that works.

7. I’m not drinking wine every night.

GASP! In Argentina, it was almost stupid how much wine we drank. Hell, we went to Mendoza and went back to Còrdoba with 18 bottles of wine (EIGHTEEN!) on the plane. There were a few weeks there when I couldn’t remember the last night I didn’t have a glass of wine. It was stupid.

I’m glad to be taking a break from the craziness. And I think my jeans are happy to.

Missed my recaps of Còrdoba or Buenos Aires? Check them out.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.