A thank you to all my ex-boyfriends

My music taste wouldn’t be the same without you

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
3 min readNov 28, 2016

--

It was sixth grade. I had never heard of The Who before.

Then he came along.

I listened to Pinball Wizard and Baba O’Riley. I memorized the band members’ names just so I could talk to him during science class. And then I got broken up with over a three-way phone call.

So along came Led Zeppelin, and the next boyfriend.

The first night we met, we danced to Stairway to Heaven — so cliché, I know. So, we dated. You gave me your Zildjian Cymbals sweatband. We talked about the history of classic rock over the phone until midnight.

It was high school and I was feeling alternative.

(Remember when I cut my hair off, Mom?)

Alternative music and my older-than-me boyfriend were on repeat. I think we listened to Muse a lot. Other than that, I don’t even really know what we listened to, the band names were too obscure to remember. That, or I’ve chosen to gray out that part of my life.

Then, there were mixtapes made featuring secret love notes from the boy from another school. More band names I can’t remember.

Along came Girl Talk, more mixtapes, a dash of eighties music.

And then, there was the age of Avicii.

The high school boyfriend turned only-when-we’re-home-from-college boyfriend who introduced me to EDM. We blasted Miike Snow, Kid Cudi, and of course, Avicii. I’d listen to him DJ under the stars. There was a lot of SoundCloud, and a lot of trying to find new music before the other one did. We were competitive, what can I say.

I think it was because of you that I got into music and took that internship at Jazz Fest. I started listening for myself, rather than just to come up with talking points for you — whoever you were. I made playlists, I thought about learning how to DJ. I’m always looking for new tunes.

You could say I have an eclectic music taste.

There’s been Dave Matthews band, Frank Ocean, and Florence + The Machine on repeat, to name a few. I’m the kind of girl who “listens to everything,” and I have y’all to thank for that.

If it wasn’t for my attempts and trying to talk to you through music, I’d probably still be listening to Backstreet Boys, or going to Beyoncé concerts because that’s what everyone does.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

Anyways, thank you. Rock on. 🤘

Wanted to give a quick shout out to my dad, obviously not an ex-boyfriend, but his blasting The Cranberries and Bruce Springsteen definitely had a big impact on the playlists I make today. Thanks, Dad. 💙

This is post #14 of my 30 day writing challenge. Keep up with it here.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.