On going with the flow

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
2 min readMar 14, 2016

There’s an art to ‘going with the flow.’

To be honest, I think I used to be kind of a pain in the ass when people would make changes on me. I didn’t like change, as to me, it usually meant something bad.

Change meant saying goodbye, friends or family moving away, or a blip in my normal life.

Now, I can safely say that I am sort of in love with change. Uh, I’m changing my location once a month. I have to go with the flow, whether I want to or not.

Last week Remote Year Cousteau (the name of my Remote Year “class,” also know as #RY3 or #rockoutwithyourjacquesout), found out that instead of spending the month of July in Istanbul, Turkey, we’d be spending it in London, due to safety concerns.

Insert collective scream/squeal from the Cousteau-ians. Seriously though, we the sounds that came out of our mouths was unreal.

We also found out that instead of October in Cavtat, Croatia, we’d be in Split, Croatia, due to the fact that Cavtat is just too small and Remote Year OG (the first RY class) didn’t have the best experience with the city.

Change happens. This time, I’m not too bothered by it. Partly because I love London. I have friends there and it’s just an awesome city that I would be happy to spend more time in. Buuuut, Istanbul would have been unreal. I’ve always wanted to go to Istanbul. Also, London = expensive. Me in London = 🤑. But personally, I know that I’ll make it to Instanbul sometime in the future. Maybe not for a month, but I’ll make it there.

In regards to the Cavtat/Split change, I’m cool with it. I’ve been to Split and I love Split, as well. I would have liked to spend some time in a new city in Croatia, but I have a feeling I’ll make my way around the country just fine.

To be on Remote Year, I think you have to be pretty good at going with the flow. If not, you’ll learn how to do so. Like I said, there’s an art.

P.S. If you live in London and will be there in July, let’s hang!

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.