#MWAMISILET AT THE ARCADE

James Mwamisi
Chronicles of James Mwamisi
3 min readApr 25, 2016
“Good day officer. How are….” “Wapi driving licence?”

I was with ‪#‎Mwamisilet at the arcade. These days he knows exactly what he wants. We went straight to the bumper cars. We normally have this arrangement where I step on the accelerator and hold him as an additional seat-belt and he does the steering at will.

I thought he was randomly driving and randomly crashing the other cars until he crash-bumped this car which had a lady and her young son and laughed heartily. I was like ‘wait, what? Was that intentional?’ Then he asked “daddy tucrash nani?” With an innocent look in his eyes. Haiya it was intentional. Ajajajajajaja sema beast unleashed…

I pointed to this 20-something year old dude who was clearly a pro, not crashing into anyone or anything and successfully evading being hit. “Yule”. #Mwamisilet spun the steering wheel, reversed and we drove past a father and son and as the chap was taking a turn we crash-bumped him from the side… He did not see that coming. He looked at us in shock almost apologising for being in our way then he heard us laugh and high five. #Mwamisilet looked back at me, “tucrash nani?” I pointed the father and son who by now had realised what we were doing. The father saw me pointing at him and smiled. #Mwamisilet spun the steering wheel and faced his direction….. And the rampage began….

After playing a couple of games we went to Chicken Inn. It was more for me than him. My energy was drained. We went to the counter, ordered their rotisserie chicken and chipo. We sat down to wait for it. Then #Mwamisilet goes like “ulikuwa wapi?” I had got late in taking him to the arcade. I told him where I was. “Ukifanya nini?” Haiya, ona huyu akinipatia pep talk! Then he remembered we are supposed to be eating chipo. “Iko wapi chipo? Imekaa sana.”

When the food came, I tore a piece of chicken for him then #Mwamisilet exclaims,
“Huyu ni kuku?”
I nodded my head.
“Unamuumiza”
I and a random lady seated on the next table burst out laughing. Then he goes,
“Amekufa?”
I nodded again
“Kukufa ni kufanya nini?”
I thought for a moment then replied, “Ni kulala kabisa… For a very long time”
“Nani atamuamsha?”
Bewildered and tickled I decided to change the topic. “Haya, eat your chips”
Still resilient he continues, “Ni his friends? Wako wapi?”

Then he notices my juice, takes it and I say, “ah ah, only a sip” and I go to get serviettes. When I got back he had drank almost 3 quarters of it. I scolded him. I could see from the look in his eyes he knew he had done something wrong. He quietly went on to eat his chips and chicken. After a while of eating and giving random incoherent stories, he looked at my juice and asked for it. I told him, “No. The rest is daddy’s”. Then looking at me with puppy eyes he goes, “Teacher alisema share your things”.

--

--