Ignorance, Z, Zen

Disclaimer: Ignorance is bliss.

Harshita Kumbhar
Chronicles Of Souvenir
2 min readMar 2, 2017

--

Today morning, a person posted something that was wrong on so many levels, I decided to let him know. Somehow, he took it on his ego and rather than acknowledging his mistake, defended his stupidity in the name of humour. Perhaps, it wasn’t even the ego. He was plain stupid. I had been mindfucked since. And the more I tried to ignore it, the more my thought process continued.

I have finally named my cats. They are going to be around for a while and describing them to friends has been hard. The parent cats are called A and B. The kittens — X, Y, Z. I have these weird choices because unlike dogs, they don’t respond to allotted names. (At least mine don’t.)

Moving on — I come home and find the lazy asses napping, except Z. That little ass was busy ripping my book, Atlas Shrugged, apart. (Note to self: Keep the book in the shelf after reading.) We set out to get some groceries and this cute dummy wooed the DMart employees. So much so, they agreed to pet him while I went shopping. As soon as I came out, I felt like a mother being showered for how well behaved and smart her kid was. Z had entertained them so well, they were ready to take care in case he accompanies next time.

I was in no mood of going home. Coffee across the road felt like a better option. The cafe manager saw Z and instantly became his fan. A kid in the cafe got scared so we were seated in the outside area when this guy turned up. And turned my mood upside down.

We were casually talking, about cats and their cuteness when he said,“Women always prefer cats.” Stereotypical comments don’t go down well with me. And given my mood, I knew I would blast. I controlled and started plotting my exit. The bill was here and the guy insisted he pay for it even though he didn’t have a sip of coffee. Of course, I wasn’t going to let him pay. So, I paid for my bill and got up to leave. I don’t know what got into the guy but he said, “Why expect chauvinism when you won’t let them pay the bill? I know many feminists like you.” and left. For a moment, I just stood there in shock. Although, it didn’t shock me that much because I experienced something so similar in the morning.

I don’t know how and why but for sure, this world is getting crazy. I really wish I was Z who had fun the entire way hanging out in the grocery bag, not giving a fuck about the world.

--

--