3G: GTA Girl Gamer

Lorainne Dela Cruz
cictwvsu-online
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2017

By: Lorainne M. Dela Cruz BSIT-3A

Being a gamer is not just simply you play games; but to be one requires passion. Almost every 21st century individuals play games nowadays, in all sorts of gaming devices, but not all understand what they play and the means of playing these games.

When an individual is a gamer, most people mistaken him/her to be addicted, a game maniac. The truth is this individual is just fascinated with games. Since kid, I was pretty ill so because of sickness I used to stay inside the house unlike other kids who roam the streets running and playing. At about 5 years of age, I got my first Nintendo 64 as a gift from my father. My gaming console was a loyal friend of mine, thanks to Nintendo. My favorite games are, of course, the classic Super Mario, Contra, Bomber man, Adventure Island, Double Dribble, Duck hunter, Popeye, and many more. Nintendo games are more than half of the summary of my childhood.

When I got into grade school I had my first PC and, at that time, the iconic Plants versus Zombies was the trend. I also played it but then I finally realized what interests me the most. I fell in love with fair graphic action adventure and simulation games. GTA hit me hard, I became insane with it. GTA Vice City was I guess my first love with all the games I played. If I were to be given the chance I would like to thank Rockstar North and Rockstar Games because they have been excellent video game companies since the dawn of my existence. All love from killing gangsters to car stealing to just hitting and killing innocent civilians you past by. Some would say that it’s not a good game because it promotes violence and uses coarse language. Oh come on, people are misinterpreting a genius creation. Game is a game. What projects on screen stays only on screen. After the GTA 3 and Vice City, San Andreas came next. So far San Andreas is the best in series for me. Playing the game feels Los Santos, San Fierro and Las Venturas to be a hometown of mine too. What I love about GTA is that the action-movie-like experience it gives to the player and the choice of either accomplishing missions or just wandering the cities. Its game mechanics are quite simple for a player’s perspective but I understand how hard for the developers to make it. Indeed, GTA has touched the life of gamers.

I also played games such like Black Hawk Down, Left 4 Dead and Counter Strike and they’re really good too. Their graphics are in good quality and the storylines are appreciable. However, I still prefer GTA because of freedom it offers to the player. There was also a time came when my interest was with Sims because I love life simulation games as I mentioned above. Both Electronic arts and Maxis are also great in developing simulation video games. The most interesting about Sims is I guess the gameplay itself for it simulates how humans live.

Now, mobile games and VRs are the trends. Mobile game development becomes flourishing for the past few years up to the present. People like convenience so portable devices are bestselling in the technology industry. Mobile games like Clash of Clans and Mobile Legends is in fame right now. For me, I like Last Day on Earth: Survival and Heroes Evolved because of their high graphics. For VR augmented reality has the greatest part of its success. Augmentation is highly important to bring the player to the composite artificial world. In computer, I am really fascinated right now with Skyrim Special Edition Nexus. Everything feels so realistic and pragmatic. The game design is so magnificent.

Amusement with games is inborn for almost every individual. Even the older generations engage with gaming entertainment. Whose grandparents are not addicted to candy crush? Indisputable indeed that game is nature of human beings. The evolution of the gaming world is continuously expanding and is expected to be more mind-boggling for the next few years. Without the technological innovations and the natural pursuit of mankind, all these game developments are impossible. So, as I end, I would like to share a quote from a video game creator Jenova Chen and he quoted; “Games have so much freedom. You can go anywhere you want”.

Image Sources

--

--