TechTips | Tools that helped me through College | BSCS Edition

Jan Daniel O. Alvarez
cictwvsu-online
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2024

During my first year of computer science, I had many problems with my activities and projects, which took me too much time to complete. However, I was lucky enough to find some tools and extensions that helped me through it, and they will help you, too!

Microsoft PowerToys

Microsoft PowerToys is a set of freeware system utilities developed by Microsoft for power users on the Windows operating system. These programs add or change features to maximize productivity or add more customization. It is very useful for me as it has tools such as a text extractor to extract text from pictures and uncopiable websites.

Live Share

Live Share allows you to co-edit, co-debug, chat with your peers, share terminals and servers, look at comments, and so much more. You don’t need to change how you work to work with others. Live Share works for all your needs and those of your team. It is very useful as it helps me and my classmates edit a single file from different computers and places.

SnapSort

Drowning in digital clutter? SnapSort swiftly organizes your files. Effortlessly categorize and customize sorting for a clean, efficient digital space. Take control with SnapSort—the future of file organization. SnapSort helped me organize my files into easily navigatable folders so I could find them easily and save more time.

CodeSnap

CodeSnap is a tool to create, manage & share images of code snippets. It provides a powerful editor to create images of your code snippet. It is very simple to use, and it is very useful when you need to share your code with your teacher or your classmates and friends.

Live Server

Live Server is a developer tool that simplifies working with local web projects. It automatically refreshes your browser whenever you change your code, saving time and effort. Start, stop, and configure the server directly from your code editor. Live Server supports many features, including customizable ports, browsers, and file exclusions. It even allows you to connect remotely and debug Chrome extensions. Whether working on static HTML/CSS/JS or dynamic pages, Live Server offers a convenient and efficient way to develop and test your web projects.

Those are some of the tools I used to pass my 1st year in Computer Science. i will be finding more in the future, so stay up to date and follow me for more TechTips!

--

--