Through the Eyes of a CICTzen: My First Chapter

ATHENA VILLARIN
cictwvsu-online
Published in
6 min readMay 28, 2024
WVSU Mini Forest

Game Start: Adjusting to CICT Life

I entered BS Computer Science in CICT as someone with no prior experience in coding. All I had was my love for computers and willingness to learn. At that time, it was a course that I had chosen impulsively for a lack of interest in other fields.

Stepping into West Visayas State University, I didn’t know anyone, and I was too shy to start conversations with other students. I remember just roaming around school, practicing what to say repeatedly inside my head, but never actually finding the courage to say them out loud and having no one to talk to. Yet somehow, amidst my flurry of emotions, I had this subtle feeling that everything would work out eventually.

Academic Journey: Challenges and Leveling Up

Starting something new is always easier said than done. Even though I was mentally prepared for the difficulties of of being thrown into a new environment as a college student, I didn’t expect that it would be this much of a challenge.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main ()
{
const double ounces_per_metric_ton = 35273.92;
double ounces, weight_in_metric_tons;
int number_of_boxes;
char ans;

do
{
cout << "Enter the weight of the cereal in ounces:\n";
cin >> ounces;

weight_in_metric_tons = ounces / ounces_per_metric_ton;
number_of_boxes = ounces_per_metric_ton / ounces;

cout << "Weight in metric tons: " << weight_in_metric_tons << "\n";
cout << "Number of boxes needed to yield 1 metric ton of cereal: " << number_of_boxes << "\n";

cout << "Would you like to input a different number?(y/n)\n";
cin >> ans;
}while (ans == 'y' || ans == 'Y');

cout << "Farewell!\n";

return 0;
}

This was the first program that I made during our programming class. I didn’t really understand what I was typing. I just did my best to follow the PDF about C++ that our professor sent us. I looked at my other classmates and felt like I was the only one who was having a hard time. I expected us to start with a simple program like “Hello, World!” but instead, we jumped straight right in to solving problems.

Despite being a simple program with very few lines, I got several errors due to typos, wrong syntax, lack of semi-colons, etc. Thankfully, with the help of my seatmate, I finally got it to run. At that moment, seeing my code finally work for the first time, it filled me with exhilaration.

It was the first of many such moments.

Community and Support: Asking For Help

Just like with all battles and quests, having teammates, mentors, and guides help a lot. In my case, I don’t think I would have survived college life if I did everything on my own. Perhaps, if I did, it wouldn’t have been as enjoyable.

As someone who has gone to different schools, one of my constant thoughts has always been “What if I don’t make any friends?” Well thankfully, I managed to find my support system. Having someone you can talk to, ask questions to, and rely on is one of the best cheats you can have in college. Together, we learned new things and helped each other improve.

I was also lucky enough to have older siblings in the same field who I could ask questions, as well as friendly and approachable classmates who, instead of competing with each other, lifted one another up.

Amidst my doubts and fears entering college, my environment here at CICT has been the healthiest one that I’ve had, pushing me to improve, as well as enjoy the ride.

Balance: Managing Studies and Personal Life

School and academics are of course important, however, we shouldn’t forget to make time for ourselves and other aspects of our life. Don’t make your world smaller by limiting yourself to the university.

View from Dumangas

One of my favorite ways to take a break from school is to go out and see sunsets, the stars, and anything else I can set my eyes upon. As a CICT student, we spend most of our time looking at screens — especially if you’re like me and play games during your free time.

Sometimes, we need to take a breather, especially when overwhelmed with the amount of work we have and finding it hard to balance school life and personal life. Always make time for yourself, take care of your health first, and try not to take it to heart when you fail.

It’s important to know your priorities and limits. That way, managing studies and personal life will be more doable.

Memorable Moments: Highlights of My First Year

The year went by quite quickly, and I can’t believe I’m already nearing my second year here in CICT.

Class Picture of BSCS 1A 2023–2024

One of the highlights of my year would definitely be getting to know my classmates and forming a bond with them. As an introvert, this was something quite unexpected.

Fun fact: this picture was taken right before we were chased away from Quezon Hall because one of the professors found us too noisy.

Picture taken during our first meeting in “Living in the IT Era”

It’s not really a moment, but rather, a collection of moments that I would say are also a highlight of my year. Looking at my list of subjects, I didn’t think that I would label this one as my favorite by the end of the year. Right from the first meeting, our professor made the class interactive, fun, and intriguing. All of our discussions, quizzes, and exams have been enjoyable for me because of the effort put in conducting them.

I’m incredibly thankful to have found passionate professors here in CICT that make learning worthwhile and fun. They go beyond traditional teaching methods, incorporating interactive activities, real-world examples, and creative assignments that spark our curiosity and deepen our understanding.

Continue: Next Chapter

Once a novice, to now reaching for the intermediate level. While my progress isn’t monumental, I have gained skills and knowledge that once seemed out of reach. Tougher challenges can be seen in the years to come, but they will also have their fair share of fun and learning opportunities.

To future CICTzens, I leave this message in hopes that it can inspire you:

I once doubted my abilities, but I persevered and made it this far. Remember, every expert was once a beginner. With determination and hard work, you can achieve more than you ever thought possible. Embrace the journey, cherish the moments, and never stop learning.

I thought I could do it, and so I did. There’s no reason why you can’t too.

--

--