(Image Analysis) Pop Culture and 3rd World Countries: How George Harrison Saved My Soul

Anthony Paul
cinema is dead
Published in
2 min readAug 30, 2015
George & Pattie Harrison travel to India for yoga and for George to learn the Sitar under the legend Ravi Shankar. That brown man is not Pattie Harrison.

When I look at this image this is honestly what runs through my mind:

“sweet” ~ Anthony Paul

George Harrisons travels to India for spiritual fulfillment really gets to me because this is what creates the bond between Pop Culture and 3rd world countries. When I literally look at this image I just see two men of different colors take a selfie in an area that seems to be relatively open. There is also some little person just standing on the left. This all slightly warped under what seems to be a fisheye lens. When I see this under the ‘connotative’ context I see two friends, of different ethnicities, bonding together. I think this is wonderfully beautiful. In the spiritual idea of just feeling an image for what it has than what is shows is one of the most beautiful ideas ever. The denotative context doesn’t even come close to faze me because it cant been seen at all when you first ‘see’ the image. The connotative context transforms itself into a story. I cant get over the feeling of this photo.

In the end the idea from polysemy formulates to one thing. What does it really mean to ‘feel’ than it means to ‘see”?

polysemy: what the hell are you actually looking at?

--

--