Frame From “Run Lola Run”

Taylor Mooney
Cinema Studies: Gender and Film
3 min readJan 31, 2017

First, let me start by saying that before watching ‘Run Lola Run’ I watched the trailer. Honestly, after watching the trailer I was not very excited to watch the movie. I thought it was going to be extremely weird and not that interesting. But, I figured I’d go into the movie with an open mind. With that in mind, ‘Run Lola Run’ was definitely not my favorite movie. However, it was a lot different then I thought it was going to be. And even though it was not my favorite movie it definitely posed a lot of interesting questions and provoked deep thought. I can definitely see why the movie was so praised by critics and a lot of the people who watched it.

Analyzed Frame

I chose to analyze this frame from ‘Run Lola Run’ because it was one of many that was really stuck in my mind after watching the movie. When I first look at this frame I am immediately drawn to Lola, who is in the center of the photo. The majority of the photo is very dark in color, on the contrary, Lola is extremely bright and vibrant. She is wearing a blue shirt and green pants which causes her to stick out from her surroundings. More than that though is Lola’s extremely bright red hair, which turns into kind of a symbol throughout the entire movie.

Initially after noticing Lola in the center of the frame I started analyzing the rest of the frame, which is also extremely interesting. The next thing I noticed, after Lola, were the nuns in the frame. I thought it was kinda funny because Lola is so different from what you would image the ‘normal’ nun to be. Due to this, the frame has immense contrast. Also, when I look at the nuns’ faces I think they look like they are almost judging Lola … for not only her appearance but the fact that she is sprinting through the streets, which is again not ‘normal’ behavior.

Finally, the last thing I noticed in this frame was how the street and the background of the frame have been blurred out. I think this was done because firstly, Lola is running … so it is to represent the speed and stress Lola is under. Secondly, I also think the street and background are blurred out because they want you to focus on Lola and the nuns, which are the most important part of the frame. If they had not blurred out the background then I might not have noticed the drastic contrast between Lola and the nuns or the nuns’ facial expressions.

--

--