Lemonade & Beasts of the Southern Wild

Elaina Rachel
Cinema Studies: Gender and Film
4 min readJan 24, 2017

I HAVE SO MANY THOUGHTS ON LEMONADE WOW WOW. OKAY, firstly, holy shit she’s a fucking goddamn queen. Second, when I watched her smash that car with a bat I was like ok I wanna find my ex’s car and smash it just like her (probably not a good idea, right?) Beyonce is just such a queen and I feel like everyone is so in love with her and literally is so obsessed with her that she could kill a puppy or something and everyone would be like YASSS QUEEN U GO QUEEN (that was so dramatic i’m so sorry) I really enjoyed Lemonade because I loved her new album, however idk if it was my ADHD or sitting in a classroom watching, but honestly I’m kinda confused because she would like have these moments in the film where she’d discuss social justice but THEN she’d be like going and bashing Jayz and shit and I was just like hold up girl pls slow down i’m confused she was so messy ugh. Okay, what I mean by that (and i’m sure people will HATE me for this) but I did not think that Lemonade had a good flow. I think it was artistic and beautifully filmed aesthetically pleasing and all, but honestly i’m just confused like she would go and be like fuck you J, and then talk about social justice and it just did not make sense. I wish she would have it flow more. I love Bey like cmon, but she preaches about being a bad bitch, yet SHE STAYED WITH JAY Z AFTER HE CHEATED???? HYPOCRITICAL MUCH??? idk man if a boy cheated on me i’d go fucking psycho on his ass and dump that shit (lmao legit a boy has cheated on me and i dumped his ass!!! and now we have a class this semester together fml) ANYWAYS, i love beyonce but I didn’t really dig Lemonade. There was SOOOO much hype and i just didn’t really enjoy it as much as the hype lead up to it seemed.

OK ON TO THE NEXT

The part of “Beasts of the Southern Wild” that was most interesting to me was when the line by a woman said, “Ya’ll better learn to survive now”. I think that was the point when I really truly got hooked more into the movie. I was a little bored in the beginning of the movie, but as it went on I couldn’t stop watching it. I want to touch on how I feel about the soundtrack as well: I think the soundtrack and the music added so much depth to the movie. As a music major, I’m always taught to listen in movies and to understand how the soundtrack adds to the point or story, and the bells and cajun music really made a difference (especially the scene in the beginning when they are all partying in the Bathtub). When Hushpuppy was talking about how “mom swam away because she loved me so much it could blow up her heart” it broke my heart, however that just proves how in touch with emotion this movie has on its viewers. I think the challenging part of watching this movies was experiencing the way they live in such poverty. I think this was sort of a culture shock for me since I realized I live such a different (more prevailed life) than Hushpuppy. I’m not sure if this movie was supposed to be sort of depressing (?), but I definitely had a hard time watching it. There were some parts of the movie that I really just did not understand, and that was super frustrating for me. I felt as if I should understand more of the motifs and themes since I watched the movie, but I read a bunch of reviews online after watching and I was like crap I did not think about that while watching the movie. I think this is the type of movie, for me personally, that I need to watch 3 more times before I truly understand the themes, motifs, symbolism and everything as a whole.

--

--