Lola Runs Into The Bullet

Madison Thorpe
Cinema Studies: Gender and Film
3 min readJan 30, 2017

Before I begin analyzing this frame, I first want to explain why I chose this specific frame of the film to analyze. When watching, Run Lola Run, this scene is a climatic moment when you are not quite sure what will happen next. As the viewer, you know something has to happen because there is still 49min and 25 seconds remaining in the film, but you are just not sure. I chose this scene because it was a jaw dropping few seconds where I was not sure what was going to happen next until it was too late and lola was already dead.

Analyzed Frame of Choice

Now to analyze the frame. The first thing I see when looking at the frame is danger. There is a police officer holding a gun out who seems EXTREMELY distracted. He obviously has complete focus on something in the top left corner of the frame that you can not see. All you can see is that it does not seem smart for an armed man to not be focused on the gun he is holding out aiming in front of him.

The next thing I notice is how your eyes travel around the frame. you can see by the direction of his head and where his eyes are looking that there is something to be seen in the left corner. His hat also draws your eyes in because the top of the hat is asymmetrical and directs the viewers eye to the top left. This same idea is also happening with the gun. If there is a gun facing the audience, it is easy to look into the barrel end of the gun. This targeted look at the gun is made easier by how the cop is holding the gun. the angle of his arms makes the viewer focus in on the gun.

Lastly, without seeing the film, If I had just seen this image as an individual work I would have assumed something big was happening because of how the background is blurred out. This is a trick that I usually see done In order to have the viewer focus on only the object that isn’t blurred. In this case its the distracted cop. This very direct focus would have let me know that this was a pivotal moment. Additionally, this image just makes me want to see whats next.

--

--