31 Must-See Horror Films During the Spooky Season

Don’t turn the lights off!

Maalik Evans
Cinemania
10 min readOct 10, 2020

--

Photo by Edilson Borges on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This list is not in order of cinematic importance. Enjoy!

1. House of 1000 Corpses

Rob Zombie exquisitely captured the fun and dreadful time of what it means to celebrate Halloween. All the while, disarming you by a seemingly friendly family, who quickly turns sadistic towards its thrill-seeking youth. Reminding us all that some things aren’t worth exploring.

2. Candyman

Candyman is to Black Americans, what Michael Myers is to white Americans. Both are respectively scary. But, Tony Todd’s menacing portrayal of the titular character is what sold the movie besides its eerie atmosphere.

3. 30 Days of Night

David Slade gave audiences around the world what many of us desperately wanted in the horror genre — a no, nonsense vampire film. Full of grit, terror, and gore.

4. The Exorcism of Emily Rose

If you thought The Exorcist was scary, think again. Jennifer Carpenter’s performance in this film is nothing short of a masterpiece. This courtroom drama entangled with demonic possession was beautifully crafted, as well as heart-wrenching to witness this happening to an everyday, young woman. It always made me question could this happen to me?

On a personal note, this film came out shortly after the death of my cousin, Ariel and was a poignant reminder of the ordeal she went through with her declining health, and what we lost as a family.

Horror films hit differently went they strike close to home.

5. Scream

The thing about Scream is this literally could happen to any of us. It’s not a scary man in your dreams or an un-killable monster. It’s a man in a mask, in the flesh and blood, taunting you and playing with your psyche — horror realism. The opening scene with Drew Barrymore still gives me utter anxiety.

This film is a perfect mix of suspense, terror, and wit — birthing a new wave of horror in the 90s. To top it off, it was directed by one of the greatest horror directors of our time, the late Wes Craven (A Nightmare on Elm Street, The Last House on the Left).

6. Suspiria (1977)

The atmosphere of Dario Argento’s Suspiria was completely daunting and made me keep looking over my shoulder the entire time. I went into this film not knowing much about it and it paid off. Thanks to this film I will not be joining any dance schools.

7. Halloween H20: 20 Years Later

How could you not love at least one of the Halloween movies? H20 is my favorite of the franchise outside of the original. There’s a personal satisfactory element to it— a person fearlessly confronting their past traumas so they can live in peace. Halloween H20 is triumphant in that regard.

Plus, Laurie Strode aka Jamie Lee Curtis was a badass in this film.

8. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003)

While I do like the original TCM film, I’m not an original purist when it comes to cinema. This remake just ages better to me in the franchise.

The opening sequence with John Larroquette’s grim narration and mockumentary style, crime footage is still bone-chilling. It’s a film that wants you to know that it’s serious, dark, and disturbing.

9. Hereditary

I originally saw this film in theaters and left feeling completely traumatized. No amount of words can do this film justice. It will make you question if what’s happening to this family is really a matter of sanity, or lack thereof, or is it something more…otherworldly.

The first night I watched it, I remember calling my mother and telling her I couldn’t go to sleep after seeing it. Since I’m the horror movie aficionado in the family, my mother was shocked and assured me that she wouldn’t be watching it.

10. Creepshow

Although this particular film falls into the comedy-horror sub-genre, it is still creepy nonetheless — tapping into my fear of being buried alive in the ocean. With George A. Romero and Stephen King at the helm, you know you’re in for a treat.

11. The Shining

The Shining is another classic horror gem that makes you question what is real and what isn’t. Was Jack Torrance really being driven by ghosts or was it cabin fever revealing his true demons?

Also, The Overlook Hotel was straight up unnerving, to say the least.

12. The Strangers

Another perfect example of what I call horror realism. Like, Scream, this film taps into real, primal fears. Am I really alone in this house? Is it me or is someone really watching me?

What is truly scary about this movie is that the assailants didn’t have a deep motive behind what they were doing…they just liked to kill and if you happened to be home, it wasn’t a pleasant visit.

From my personal experiences with danger, life and death, it’s best to listen to your instincts when they’re screaming at you to run!

13. The Hills Have Eyes (2006)

The musical score to this remake alone is enough to scare the bejesus out of you. Not only that, but the makeup and design of the people living in the deserted hills were much more grotesque than the original.

Road trip horror movies are always a fun popcorn choice. Thanks to The Hills Have Eyes, I avoid the desert like the plague.

14. Bones

Bones is what I like to call a hood classic wrapped in a horror movie. Snoop Dogg did his thing in this blaxploitation reminiscent piece. Honestly, as Black people, we don’t have many horror films to call our own, but this is ours.

15. Dark Skies

Films involving aliens, like vampires can be hit or miss. This one is definitely a hit. Dark Skies is filled with suspense and disturbing images, leaving you wondering if this could happen to your family.

16. 28 Days Later

When 28 Days Later first came out, everybody and their mama were talking about it. I saw it as a kid and vividly remember being turned off by it. So when COVID-19 was declared a pandemic, I rewatched it…and this film still holds up amazingly well.

It definitely falls in line with more of a realistic approach to zombies and the first film in which I saw zombies running extremely fast.

17. Get Out

Jordan Peele knew what he was doing when he made this joint.

Literally, every Black person’s nightmare of interacting with white people. But, more than just that, it’s such a disorienting film because the Armitage family were overt, hospitable liberals or as I like to call them, faux-liberals…what could go wrong, right?

18. Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho (1960)

Ah, the film that essentially gave birth to the slasher sub-genre. The first of its kind to showcase an amalgamation of deviant behavior, sexuality, and violence.

At the time of its release, Psycho was met with a lot of backlash and mixed reviews due to its taboo nature. However, it later went on to be nominated for four Academy Awards. The horror genre rarely gets a chance at the Academy.

19. The Craft

The Craft has a personal nostalgia for me because my mother showed it to me as a little kid and I fell in love with the characters. It’s a great popcorn horror film that doesn’t take itself too seriously, but does have some great life lessons in it — whatever you send out, comes back times three.

Also, I loved that there was a Black female lead in the core group of the girls. Go head, Rachel True! I see you, sis!

20. Wrong Turn

Anyone who has seen this movie already knows, we ain’t going to the woods or West Virginia for that matter. Period!

All jokes aside, this is a grisly road trip horror film that’ll make you second guess taking any back roads or traveling through the forest.

21. Friday the 13th: Part II

This film is when Jason Voorhees first emerges on land in the notable franchise and is the reason why you won’t want to go camping after watching it.

22. Jeepers Creepers

The first creature feature that made me run for the hills and will make you too. Definitely, a very tense film that holds up till the very end. The ending still disturbs me to this day.

23. Alien: Covenant

Between the Neomorph alien and the Xenomorph alien running around…this movie stressed me out. If you’re a sci-fi horror fan, you’ll love Alien: Covenant for the mythology, cinematography, acting, and dreadful monsters.

24. Children of the Corn (1984)

That creepy childish hymn that plays in the opening and kids killing adults is what’s so unsettling about Children of the Corn.

25. Tales from the Hood

Here we go with another hood-horror classic. It’s a film with a deeper social commentary behind it from police corruption, to racism and gang violence.

If you want to see creepy dolls scurrying around and a man transforming into the Devil — this is your flick.

26. As Above So Below

Back when I was living in the Bronx, me and my roommate at the time decided to watch this movie for Halloween. Now, normally I’m not one for the found footage horror movie style, but I must admit As Above So Below didn’t disappoint.

Between The Goonies-esque adventure feel, endless hallways of corpses, Occult-like rituals, and sheer terror, you’re in for a real treat.

27. Deep Blue Sea

It’s better than Jaws. There. I said it.

Three genetically modified Mako sharks at a facility out in the middle of the ocean…No, ma’am!

I loved that Samuel L. Jackson and LL Cool J starred in it, at least one of us survived. As a lover of the ocean, this movie kept playing in my mind when I first encountered a shark in real life.

28. Dawn of the Dead (2004)

The way Ken Foree’s character said, “When there’s no room in hell, the dead will walk the earth” …still makes my spine tingle. Anything that makes you second guess the real world, is frightening to me.

29. Chernobyl Diaries

Another well-done road trip horror film, where exploiting peoples’ tragedies for harmless fun flips over on its head. Again, certain things are not worth exploring.

30. House on Haunted Hill (1999)

Aside from Candyman, this film scared the hell out of me as a little kid. My brother showed it to me and I was shook. It’s an incredibly disorienting, haunted house movie — to the point where you think you’re going insane watching it.

31. Final Destination

Ah, the force of nature we must all meet at some point in our lives. Death.

Pre-9/11, our society had no idea what were in for when this craziness came out. Final Destination is terrifying because it’s the personification of Death itself and trying to escape it was no joke for these ill-fated teens.

Kudos to Jeffrey Reddick, a Black screenwriter, for creating this masterpiece in horror.

--

--

Maalik Evans
Cinemania

I write about the industry, culture, creativity, personal essays, film & TV reviews. My work has also been featured on TheGrio & Blavity. www.maalikevans.com