4 Movies from My Childhood I Still Enjoy Watching as An Adult

Hannah H
Cinemania
Published in
5 min readMay 29, 2024
Photo by Tyson Moultrie on Unsplash

My introduction to movies and the magical escape they provide occurred in our neighbor’s apartment, where my brother and I gathered in front of their TV and ventured into a world filled with mysteries and dangerous escapades.

With our popcorn and fizzy drinks, we often binge-watched several films, discussing every moment along the way. As a child, I was unaware of the ins and outs of filmmaking, I simply viewed these movies as entertaining while providing characters I could look up to.

Throughout my adulthood, I’ve revisited these childhood films, and I’m happy to say that they’ve stood the test of time. Watching these films as an adult evokes a sense of nostalgia while allowing me to appreciate the characters in a new way.

Overall, these movies are still quite enjoyable, and even after watching them plenty of times, I still find myself engrossed in the plot.

Grab your favorite snack and settle in while we discuss childhood movies that are bound to awaken some memories.

1.) Mulan (1998)

Let’s get down to business to defeat the Huns.

Did they send me daughters when I asked for sons?

This song, “I’ll Make a Man Out of You,” has been ingrained in my mind ever since I watched the film, and I still find myself randomly singing it. That’s the magic of Disney: their characters and the musical elements stick with you long after the film’s premiere.

“Mulan” tells the story of a young woman who disguises herself as a man to take her aging father’s position in the army. Accompanied by her guardian angel, Mushu, Mulan aids in the defeat of the Hun army and experiences love along the way.

Photo Credit: Walt Disney Pictures

As an adult, I continue to adore Mulan’s story as she placed her life on the line to protect her father at a time when speaking up or voicing your opinion as a woman was inappropriate and uncommon.

Furthermore, this movie has always stood out to me as it shows a daughter’s dedication to her father in addition to catchy songs and multifaceted characters.

At its core, “Mulan” is a film about perseverance and finding your way in the world, which culminates with a love story at the end. This film has all the typical elements that appeal to children, such as animation and comedy, with characters you can’t help but love and root for.

2.) The Prince of Egypt (1998)

Similar to “Mulan,” this film is filled with many memorable songs while maintaining biblical accuracy and highlighting themes of faith and determination. “The Prince of Egypt” surrounds “Egyptian Prince Moses, who learns of his identity as a Hebrew and his destiny to become the chosen deliverer of his people.” (IMDb)

Regardless of personal beliefs surrounding religion, this film has spoken to audiences across the world and continues to be adored by adults and children alike. This film masters the art of storytelling and portrays the journey of Moses in a manner that is easily understood.

Photo Credit: DreamWorks Pictures

Additionally, this movie showcases the relationship between Moses and his brother Ramses and the close bond they share. However, this bond is shattered when Moses discovers his true purpose and embarks on a journey to free his people, the Hebrews, from slavery.

We see Ramses' stubborn nature grow throughout the film, leading to disastrous consequences. We meet other characters, such as Miriam, who add depth to the story and contribute to Moses’s mission. Moses’ journey is full of inspiration and unique songs that will leave a lasting impact.

3.) Clue (1985)

This film was my first look into the genre of murder mysteries, and as a child, I enjoyed every bit of it, from the comedy to the dialogue. “Clue is my favorite murder mystery because it’s clever and bold and isn’t afraid to subvert your expectations.

Based on the board game of the same name, “Clue” centers around six guests who are invited to a mansion with one thing in common: they are being blackmailed by their host, Mr. Boddy. Later on, they are each given weapons, and when the lights are switched off, the blackmailer is killed. But who did it? As the evening continues, the guests quickly work together to reveal the killer’s identity.

Photo Credit: Paramount Pictures

The true stars of “Clue” are the cast who are phenomenal in their roles and keep you on the edge of your seat. As the guests try to decipher the killer’s identity, distrust envelopes around them, leading to hilarious moments that lighten the atmosphere.

From the moment the unsuspected guests arrive at the mansion, there is an aura of suspicion and mystery, which only escalates as the film continues. I enjoy that this movie keeps you guessing and holds your attention until the very end.

During my childhood, the hilarious nature of this film captured my attention and I’m still drawn to the comedy and characters as an adult. If you haven’t seen this comedic masterpiece, it will not disappoint.

4.) The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. (2005)

Who could’ve imagined that a world filled with fantasy and unique creatures existed through the door of a wardrobe? Well, this vision was brought to life in the movie “The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.”

This film follows siblings Lucy, Edmund, Susan, and Peter as they discover the land of Narnia through a magical wardrobe while playing hide-and-seek. In Narnia, the children meet several mystical creatures, including the powerful lion Aslan. From here, the children team up with Aslan to defeat the deceptive White Witch.

I enjoyed that this movie showcased how the siblings united to defeat the Witch although there was some hesitancy along the way. Additionally, the world of Naria is a delight to watch on screen especially as we view the mystical creatures, one whom becomes an important friend and ally.

Photo Credit: Walt Disney Pictures

There are also themes of courage and faith, which are embodied by the children, who quickly adapt to this new land and listen to Aslan's wise words to overpower the White Witch.

From talking creatures to epic battles and gripping adventures, there is so much to love about this film. Although there are two other films in this franchise, the first film is truly captivating and heartwarming.

Thanks for reading!

Be sure to give this story a few claps if you enjoyed it.

What are some of your favorite childhood films?

--

--

Hannah H
Cinemania

Hi! I'm Hannah from Barbados🇧🇧. I write about movies and other topics that pop into my mind. For freelance inquires contact me: hannahanne-marie@outlook.com