Does My Mister Have a Happy Ending?

The South Korean television series reminds us to live with dignity no matter how absurd life is, with the help of Albert Camus.

Yong Yee Chong
Cinemania

--

Lee Ji-eun as Lee Ji-an without the IU’s halo 👼 (Photo Credit: NewOnNetflix)

My Mister (sometimes titled My Ajusshi and 나의 아저씨 in Hangul) has been on my Netflix feed for the longest time. I have to admit that the still shot of the leading actress (as shown in the picture above) is not too convincing when I came across it. The auto-play promo clip did not work either. It does not give the slightest hint of how sincere the entire production is and how much heart-searching moments a viewer will endure watching it. When I finally threw myself into the story, it turned out to be really awe-inspiring.

If a good production makes you think, a great one like My Mister will inspire you to take action.

It inspired me to write. Personally, it deserves more than a remembrance. The critically acclaimed series owed its success to the cast and the crew of the entire production. The whole cast was said to have their lifetime performance.

The directorial work of Kim Won-seok never disappoints. Following his success in Misaeng: Incomplete Life and Signal, My Mister continued his storytelling mission, meeting a girl in her early…

--

--

Yong Yee Chong
Cinemania

I am a sport scholar who writes about personal stories and intersectional identity.