Film Review: Harry Potter Series

The classic of all time

JW
Cinemania

--

Photo by Shayna Douglas on Unsplash

I was prompted by a sudden impulse and decided that I wanted to rewatch classics that I’ve watched a long time ago. Harry Potter was the first movie I thought of. It really isn’t any less compared to many fantasies nowadays, and I can’t wait to reread the novels again, too.

Below are my short reviews of each movie of the series.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

I feel the first episode is the only one that’s suitable for children. From an adult’s perspective, the storyline is a bit too simplified and with a lot of cliches, such as friendship and love conquering all, Gryffindor being the best house, and Slytherin being the worst. The main character is the flawless hero everywhere.

Interestingly, despite all these cliches, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is magical and remains one of the most impressive ones for me in the series.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

The plot becomes more of a detective style, with suspense and twists in between. Although it is pretty predictable, but still enjoyable. We are also finding more and more puzzles and beginning to see a fuller picture of Hogwarts and its world.

--

--

JW
Cinemania

Got this pen name while having a juice on a windy day. Most of the time on IG: juicywind for now