Free Guy is Exceptional (And Much Deeper Than Meets The Eye)

I laughed. I cheered. I nearly cried. This film is a masterpiece that marries fun and thematic depth. It’s a story about waking up. So, wake up.

Valentina Eve
Cinemania

--

Free Guy Official Movie Poster | 20th Century Studios

I just saw Free Guy. I haven’t had so much fun at the movies in ages.

Free Guy was created and distributed by the same studios that made Deadpool, meaning my expectations were exceptionally high when I first decided to buy my ticket. Deadpool and Deadpool 2 are two of my favorite films, instilling me with a deep trust in the creative minds behind them.

At first glance, Free Guy looks like a zany, colorful spin on the background lives of video game characters. Equipped with stunning visuals, clever comedy, and mesmerizing performances, it supplies the basics of what makes a great movie.

However, there is so much more to Free Guy than meets the eye. There is a sort of thematic depth that moved me, opened my eyes, and made me question the very fabric of our reality.

How Free Guy’s Plot Prioritizes Fun

--

--

Valentina Eve
Cinemania

Sci-Fi, Superheroes, and Sometimes, More! 🎬✨ I use Medium to keep track of my favorite movies and share my thoughts when they scream too loud.