How I’d Have Written the Star Wars Prequels

My version of Episodes I, II, and III.

Simon Dillon
Cinemania

--

Photo by Tommy van Kessel on Unsplash

It is generally agreed that George Lucas’s Star Wars prequels were a disappointment. Despite being technically proficient, with outstanding visual effects, production design, music score, and the odd thrilling lightsabre duel, the storytelling was largely a plodding bore of trade disputes and ludicrous dialogue about sand. My big issues with the prequels had nothing to do with Jar Jar Binks, and everything to do with wasting the chance to create a set of films on a par with the original classic trilogy.

An alternative treatment

My own treatment for the Star Wars prequels, written in posthumous frustration, went something like this: Episode I begins when the Clone Wars kick-off, introducing Obi-Wan Kenobi as a recently qualified Jedi who has yet to take an apprentice. Battles between Separatists and the Republic are fought, manipulated by Chancellor Palpatine. He is revealed as Darth Sidious immediately, with multiple Sith under his command, not just one.

Amid this turmoil, Obi-Wan discovers eighteen-year-old Anakin on Tatooine; an orphan living rough in Mos Eisley who has incredible raw Force powers. Anakin is charming and resourceful, having survived on the streets since running away from distant relatives as a…

--

--

Simon Dillon
Cinemania

Novelist and Short Story-ist. Film and Book Lover. If you cut me, I bleed celluloid and paper pulp. Blog: www.simondillonbooks.wordpress.com