I Was Raised By a TV (And I’m Just Fine)

Tara Lyn Mallick
Cinemania
Published in
5 min readApr 15, 2020

--

I have often bragged about the fact that all I did growing up was watch TV. Sorry Mom (R.I.P.) and Dad, but it’s true.

When I think of my childhood I think of these things: sleepovers, going rollerskating with my dad, running loose in the summertime with the neighborhood kids and TV. Lots of TV.

I remember using a tape recorder to audiotape Penny’s voice when she appeared on Good Times (don’t ask). I remember being excited when we had HBO that we weren’t paying for (thanks, cable company!).

I remember watching every American Music Awards that ever aired. I loved watching Cops and SNL on Saturday nights. Little House on the Prairie played on the little TV while we ate dinner. MTV was huge.

When I got my first job, the first thing I saved up for was a television. Initially, I had a tiny, 5-inch screen TV with an antenna that I had to tune in constantly. I watched The Simpsons, 21 Jump Street and Married With Children.

I finally graduated to a 12" colored TV and I watched Entertainment Tonight on it every evening after dinner. I remember when E.T. covered Michael Landon’s death and I was crushed that Pa Ingalls was gone (the TV one, anyway).

There was no shame in TV. It was like a member of our family that never stopped talking. I cannot think of a…

--

--

Tara Lyn Mallick
Cinemania

Top writer in #race and #blacklivesmatter | The Startup | Noteworthy | Social worker | Book lover