‘It’s Okay Not To Be Okay’ Shows Us How Doctors Should Be

Dr. Oh Ji-wang is perfection in a pill bottle.

Faith Ann
Cinemania

--

Credit: Netflix

*Beware of spoilers*

A few months ago I was captivated by the Korean Drama “It’s Okay Not To Be Okay.” Everything about it was beautiful. The acting, the writing, the location, music, illustrations, discussion of mental illness. Truly, all wonderfully done. Please stop reading and go watch it on Netflix.

People need healers, not robots with a fancy degree.

But one of the aspects of the show that struck me the most was the empathetic and creative healer/doctor/director of OK Psychiatric Hospital, Dr. Oh Ji-wang. I have watched a lot of doctor TV shows in my life and never before have I seen an on-screen depiction done so well. Dr. Oh Ji-wang is the best portrayal of what is lacking in the medical field by representing all the things a doctor should be. Every episode, I found myself yearning to have doctors with even a percentage of Dr. Oh Ji-wang’s love and intelligence.

Healing comes in all forms

Throughout the show, Dr. Oh Ji-wang is continuously giving people medicine, but not all of his prescriptions come in pill bottles.

--

--

Faith Ann
Cinemania

Escapades of a 20-something-year old! Writing about relationships, culture, and whatever else pops into my messy mind! https://faithann.substack.com/