TELEVISION

On How River Song Got My Heart

Do I fancy her, or do I want to be like her?

Gaby Rogut
Cinemania
Published in
4 min readJan 25, 2021

--

Credit: BBC

It all started because I loved to watch reruns of Stargate SG-1. I’ll admit that I started watching only because I was stanning Richard Dean Anderson, but I kept on enjoying SG-1 crazy adventures even after he left the show.

I would see ads for a wacky show called Doctor Who during the commercial breaks. I had heard of it before but had honestly never given it a try. In any case, I thought it looked quite ridiculous: robot aliens that screamed, “Exterminate,” a silly man wearing a bow tie, and a strange blue phone box.

On occasion, I would also catch fragments of the show. Turns out, there was this man called The Doctor, who wasn’t a medical doctor and didn’t actually have a name that most people knew of. Plus, he traveled through time and space in the above-mentioned blue box, which, by the way, was way bigger on the inside.

Suddenly, I was watching whole episodes and soon understood this wasn’t just a show: it was a phenomenon, and there was plenty to enjoy.

He was my first Doctor.

If any fans of the show are reading this right now, they have probably guessed Matt Smith was my first doctor. With his perfect cheeks and even cheekier…

--

--

Gaby Rogut
Cinemania

Jack of too many trades. Mom to a son. Former teacher. Bi. Autistic. Mexicana. Need some feedback? Hire me! https://ko-fi.com/gabyrogut/commissions