Should You Rush To Watch ‘Enola Holmes’ On Netflix?

The all-star cast doesn’t disappoint.

Henry Godfrey-Evans
Cinemania
2 min readSep 25, 2020

--

Credit: Netflix

I’m very rarely alert to a completely new film or series on streaming platforms a little while before release. Enola Holmes was a film that seemed to be promoted quite well, I’d be surprised if anyone who was into film hadn’t seen previews and trailers in the prior few days to its release on the 23rd.

It didn't seem like tacky, desperate advertising. There was a seriously strong cast- the very current and rising star Billy Bobby Brown, the reputable British duo of Henry Cavill and Sam Claflin, and finally the industry giant Helena Bonham Carter. The idea seemed genuinely intriguing and the characters had an established, ready-made audience.

Without spoiling the film I can give you an idea of what to expect, 2 hours is a lot of time in your life to give up not knowing what you’re in for. I would advise that the tone is much more of a family/charming one than a serious drama. I wouldn't feel nervous recommending this for family film night, in fact, I would probably put it forward as a strong pitch.

Henry Cavill as Sherlock Holmes was such a good choice I can only assume it already exists in fan casting forums worldwide. I was deflated to see he wasn’t a strong role in the film because he played the role as assertively as I thought he might. I wouldn't be shocked if the aftermath of this film were demands for his reprisal of the role.

The acting is charming and a clear display of top-shelf talent, but not serious and none of the actors’ best performances. I would recommend as a light-hearted watch for fans of the actors or fictional characters, but I wouldn’t call it a must-watch.

Rating: 7.5/10

--

--

Henry Godfrey-Evans
Cinemania

I like appreciating works of art, as well as attempting to craft some of my own. Check out my podcast! It's called 'Bring a mit' on every platform!