The Galaxy vs Middle Earth

Star Wars vs Lord of the Rings

Henry Godfrey-Evans
Cinemania
5 min readAug 25, 2020

--

Art by Sharioon via Devientart

If we’re honest, these are the two titan trilogy franchises that exist outside of the relentless Marvel films. The millennial masterpieces, the toys from the 2000s, one does not simply like the two of these equally. We should probably refer primarily to the trilogies released in those years. I’m not here to talk about the technical stuff; I’m channeling my surface-level analysis WatchMojo style.

So, onto the comparisons…

The Old Being

The nominees are Yoda, from Star Wars, and Gandalf, from LOTR. I’m beginning with the most challenging match up because I’m respectful to my elders. Still, what a mentally exhausting decision to make. How does one choose between the wise ‘green friend’ and the wizard who is neither late nor early? With a heavy heart, I awarded this one to Gandalf, based eventually on the fact that Yoda’s big fight scene felt slightly insignificant, whereas Gandalf fought the Balrog, which was central to the story.

Galaxy 0–1 Middle-Earth

Credit to Alexdevil via Wikipedia

The One with the Arc

Not Noah, so I’ll give you a second to guess who this may be on both sides.

Yes, it’s Anakin and Frodo. On reflection, the title “one with a curly wig” would have also worked, except for the number of candidates on the side of middle earth.

This one is a tad easier, while both characters are lovable, and despite only one of them doing actual bad guy things, I gave this one to Anakin. I loved the story behind Frodo withstanding the burden and corruption of the ring, but an arc that turns a talented brat with a big heart into one of the most iconic supervillains of all time? Among some tough matchups, I can coast through this one.

Galaxy 1–1 Middle-Earth

Credit to Lucilia Nunes via WordPress

The lovable protagonist

I’m glad this isn’t merely Viggo vs Ewan because I have other things to do today. Their characters are what create the smallest of margins between them. Obi-Wan Kenobi is one of the most loved characters ever, with some of the most charming lines in both franchises. Aragorn is an inspiring warrior that symbolizes the bravery in men, brilliantly played, and one of my favorite characters. Obi-Wan Kenobi walks as a victor, though. “Hello, there” and the final duel in Revenge of the Sith being the dominant factors.

Galaxy 2–1 Middle-Earth

Credit to RocketSimoon via Nerdevil

The Plucky Side Duo

C3PO & R2D2 vs Merry and Pippin. I have no idea what the public opinion on this one is, but I’d guess that the duo which is clearly the most famous would win over most. Nope, I think my choice would be the hobbits.

Among archives of backstories and fun scenes, what clinched it for me was Pippin’s (Billy Boyd) poignant rendition of “Home is behind” in Return of the King. The split of the two friends just made for a more meaningful story.

Galaxy 2–2 Middle-Earth

Credit to elhombreinadaptable

The ‘Behind the Scenes’ villain

Yep, there are actually a huge amount of similarities that are starting to connect in my head. Here, the esteemed bad guys in question are Sauron and The Emperor, both of which have Christopher Lee as their vice bad guy. In terms of the fear factor, I’m a sucker for the unknown, unseen evil, as it is much scarier. I would probably testify that Sauron was a more frightening concept as a kid, but I would also say that Palpatine was a more interesting character. So this one goes to The Emperor with slightly less grudge than some others.

Galaxy 3–2 Middle-Earth

Credit to Valorum via StackExchange

The materialistic, weird speaking, side villain

Woah, there really are quite a lot of little similarities. The lightsaber collector alien vs the creature with a vice for jewellery. If I have to name either then I question you being here. General Grievous was a cool, formidable fan favourite, while Gollum was a creepy, pitiful little creature. Yet, using my reasoning, Gollum was both more iconic and more complex. Although it may be unbalanced, with Grievous getting a fraction of the screen time, and with the fair mention that he was quite memorable considering, Gollum was a tragic character that incited disgust, hate, and pity throughout the trilogy.

Galaxy 3–3 Middle-Earth

Credit to Nathan Rupert via Flickr

The hero with long hair and a beard that got impaled by a scary-looking thing in the first movie

Okay, maybe these similarities are getting a bit silly, but Mick, am I wrong? Boromir and Qui-Gon Jinn. 2 great actors, 2 heroic deaths, 1 point in it. Now, the fights leading up to the deaths are both the absolute lofty heights of film. In that instance though, ‘Duel of Fates’ takes that win. However, as far as the finale of the characters goes, Qui-Gon is simply bested in combat. Boromir revives himself, sword-swinging twice more before he gives in. So the final point goes to Middle-Earth, for the most epic death scene in cinema history.

Galaxy 3–4 Middle-Earth

Credit to Lorenzo Manara

The trophy goes to Middle-Earth! I’m sure there will be grievances, but luckily there’s a place for such things ⬇️.

--

--

Henry Godfrey-Evans
Cinemania

I like appreciating works of art, as well as attempting to craft some of my own. Check out my podcast! It's called 'Bring a mit' on every platform!