Wonka-a brief review

“I’m making chocolate, of course.”

‘Vive Akugha
Cinemania

--

Image Credit: Screenshot from Warner Bros. Pictures on YouTube

This movie is rather whimsical. We have a heist, a reunion, a murder attempt, a chocolate cartel, and more. I feel the movie got a lot better from the Get Yourself Some Wonka Chocolate song. I liked that song, the scrub song, and the oodles of fun duets.

A spoiler warning is in effect! If you like this, you can get more of my articles when you follow my account.

I am indifferent about Timothée’s portrayal of Willy. I will say he did well portraying the optimism, determination, naïveté, and cheerfulness of this version of Willy Wonka. Bleacher, Scrubitt, and Slugworth were great villains. I wondered how Hugh Grant would play an Oompa Loompa, and it was quite amusing.

I wrote about “Johnny Depp’s ICONIC Willy Wonka,” so I will compare this one to that one. This Wonka formed his Chocolatier ambition from his desire to be a magician and from his love of chocolate. His mother was a cook and she made the first chocolate he ever tasted. His dreams sprouted then, and she encouraged them. The 2005 Willy Wonka formed his Chocolatier ambition after luckily tasting the chocolate left from a fire. He was strictly discouraged by his father from eating chocolate but left home to follow his dreams. Both are from single-parent households.

--

--

‘Vive Akugha
Cinemania

I write on various things: social issues, well-being, cinema and out of curiosity.