4 Feel-Good Films To Brighten Up Your Day

Mickey Jones
Cinemawriters
Published in
3 min readNov 27, 2016

Life sucks. That’s a fact. From having to wake up from a cool dream by an annoying alarm, to have to go to school or work in the cold and the pressure and stress along with it, there’s not much to make the average joe feel better, right? Well, there is something. A ‘feel-good’ film.

What do i mean by that? A film that once watched will leave a vast array of emotions on the viewer. I normally scrub through the internet for feel good films and whatever life throws at me, i can always watch one of these and life doesn’t seem half as bad.

Or, i like to believe so.

By the way, this is what i consider to be feel good films and i wish to say i am not the only one that considers these movies as such.

1. Begin Again

I could list every John Carney film in here, but it would take almost all of the list, so i won’t. Begin Again is the definition of a feel good film, it has relatable characters, some realistic dialogue and a sense of joy throughout.

I watched this after i got home from a serious leg injury, i couldn’t do anything, i was just put. Either on my bed or my desk, it was depressing. My friend dropped by and gave the DVD of this movie and said to me ‘my sister and i watch this movie whenever we feel like shit, so watch it, it will make you feel a lot better’.

But i could tell from the premise, it wouldn’t be my style of ‘feel good’. But i couldn’t be more wrong. It’s a fun, relatable, funny and joyfull film. That’s all you need.

2. Superbad

Now, when i first watched Superbad, it was kinda scary to me how much i was reminded of my life with the characters. This movie really shows the crazy antics of youth and has some of the most memorable and funny quotes in movie history.

Plus, it has a very upbeat ending.

3. The Nice Guys

What makes ‘The Nice Guys’ my favorite movie of this (cursed) year is that everything about it is perfect. The acting, writing and directing and even the cinematography is great. The non-stop witty lines and comebacks spread a sense of joy throught this picture, even if some of the subject matter is not…well, joyfoul.

I do recommend this and ‘Kiss Kiss Bang Bang’ another Shane Black piece of greatness.

4. Easy A

This one doesn’t need explaining. But for the record, this is a great movie. Lead by an astonishing, honest and genuinely funny performance by Emma Stone, this is one that will make the most cynical and depressed type on the face of the earth, crack a smile.

Anyways, hope you watch one of these extraodinary films if you are feeling like life is meaningless (which that depends, tbh).

--

--

Mickey Jones
Cinemawriters

A hard-blooded writer, philosopher and lover of comic books and good films.