A ‘Lion King’ Superfan Takes on the Remake

Amanda Finn
CineNation
Published in
4 min readJul 22, 2019

--

When I call myself a “Lion King Superfan” I’m not being cheeky. There isn’t a better way to describe it. The moment I saw that movie in 1994, my first in theaters, I was repeating Timon’s lines like a parrot on adderall. I was smitten heart and soul.

“The Lion King” inspired me to study film, theater and storytelling. It wholly encapsulated my childhood. It inspired me to make my own versions of the stories, practice my car karaoke skills and tear up seeing The Tree of Life at Disney World.

So now, a fortune in merch, three “Lion King” inspired tattoos, countless viewings and half a dozen Broadway performances later, I still can’t get enough of the stories. I even love “Lion King II” and 1 ½. My affection knows no bounds.

Pinterest

So, when the remake was announced, my phone blew up. Since it came out this past week, folks are still clamoring for my take on the movie.

I didn’t have answers for anyone. I was excited, but nervous. Cautiously optimistic and cynical. The trailers came out and my anxiety grew. I sat in the theater with butterflies in my stomach.

--

--

Amanda Finn
CineNation

A writer spending a ridiculous amount of time watching theater, movies or shows and talking about my pets or husband. Amanda-Finn.com.