Texas Forever: Friday Night Lights

Why “Friday Night Lights” Was The Perfect Small Town TV Drama

Brandon Sparks
CineNation

--

Season One Cast of “Friday Night Lights” (Photo Credit: NBC)

I grew up in a Southern football town, but my high school team was terrible. During my entire high school career, my alma mater won three total games, two of which came during my senior year. Even with every losing season, the next season started with high hopes. This would be our year. I spent many nights watching from the stands, and each week the onlookers would dwindle. The next year, it would start all over again.

Now, even though football was such an integral part of my high school and college years, my life did not revolve around it. It was always in the background. I was never as obsessed as many of the people were in my hometown. Football talk was like talking about the weather. Everyone had comments, but none of them were experts. Outside of my college team (Roll Tide) and our rivals, my football knowledge has always been very limited. That’s why I rarely gravitate toward entertainment that focuses on football. But, I always had a few football movies I enjoyed. One of the biggest was Peter Berg’s Friday Night Lights, which was released in 2004.

What I remember liking about this film was that I thought it captured the life of teenagers living in a Southern football town. It was a film that I thought realistically portrayed…

--

--