Film Students Abroad: Jennie May

// contog
Rhizomatic Cinephilia
5 min readAug 30, 2015

A profile of a #stantonfilm alum and world traveler.

JA: How did you get the opportunity to study abroad?

JM: During summer vacation 2015 I backpacked around Europe for two months. Two friends had been planning a trip like this for a year [and] I signed on. It meant saving money, purchasing a Euro-Rail pass, a large backpack and having a flexible plan with the patience for days when everything in the world seems to go wrong.

This coming fall is something different.

I will be studying abroad in Madrid, Spain via the Study Abroad program through Syracuse University. I researched the abroad opportunities as a freshman, and met with the Spanish abroad advisor each semester to make sure I was on track.

This means submitting an application (short and easy) but also knowing what classes are offered and what you can take towards your major so you can stay on track to graduate on time.

JA: Where did you travel and what were your academic responsibilities while there?

JM: This summer I traveled from Oslo to Copenhagen to Berlin to Interlaken to Salzburg to Vienna to Budapest to Istanbul to Santorini to Athens to Rome to Florence to Venice to Nice to Barcelona to Madrid to Sevilla to Cordoba to Salamanca to Paris to Bruges and finally to Amsterdam.

Due to this being a personal backpacking trip not associated with any educational program my academic responsibilities were minimal. I know others my age (even years younger) are filling their resumes with outstanding and impressive internships.

I decided to skip the internship (a risky decision if you’re a business major) to travel. Instead I polished my online portfolio and attempted to write blogs where I look back on my travels and experiences while analyzing public relations, marketing, and supply chain management issues (my three majors).

This coming fall in Madrid I have a full course load of 19 credits. These will range from spanish classes, business classes, and european centered economics as well as marketing classes.

Nothing is film focused because Syracuse University doesn’t exactly offer those classes, there are a few but won’t count towards my major. Hence, plan ahead like I have done, fulfill your other minor or majors while abroad in case the next film production or journalism class isn’t offered in the study abroad program.

JA: What was the best place you traveled and why? Describe it.

JM: Hands down Istanbul, Turkey.

It was a pain in the rear end to get there and get out of Istanbul (22 hour train rides followed by more train and buses) but it was so different from American culture.

I kept a scarf tied around my bag in case we happened to find a mosque. Almost everything is open, the permanent residents will try to sell you goods and such but they are so welcoming. Many buildings are open to walk in as long as you are respectful to their culture by wearing a scarf and taking off your shoes.

My pictures cannot do it justice and my words are failing to describe its beauty. The currency, the lira is also weaker than the US dollar, I wish I had the space to purchase more items. Also, they sell steamed corn on the street for 2 lira, get it, get it every chance because with a little bit of salt it is a great (gluten free) snack!

I also met a guy on the train from Sofia to Turkey that was from Jacksonville, Florida and loved Chamblin’s, Chamblin Bookmine is amazing, there’s every genre, including journalism and media and filmmaking!

JA: What advice might you offer to upcoming college students from the film program about studying abroad?

JM: You should absolutely take a chance and spread your wings. My situation is unique because I backpacked as well as will be studying abroad but look at all the options and figure out what works for you. Stay in hostels, talk to everyone, and use your common sense.

Whether you can only travel for a short program during winter break or a couple weeks before you start a summer internship anything is better than nothing. Go to your favorite city or town you read about in your favorite book, drink the Fernet Branca (Batman), hike the Schilthorn. Traveling takes planning, planning takes organization, organization takes time. And there’s no better time than now to start.

My final words, the more I travel outside America the more I appreciate what we have here in our country. Europe was great this summer, I look forward to Madrid and my weekend trips this fall, but I honestly can’t wait to be back in snowy Syracuse in January with the old comforts of home

The best part is coming home with rolodex after rolodex of stories, mistakes, and accomplishments. But remember to write it down in a journal or a notepad, take some real pictures (please, for the sake of my sanity forget the selfie-stick and the ‘American-selfie’ craze), and buy some souvenirs like postcards, Turkish ‘fancy pants,’ or Spanish tiles.

--

--

// contog
Rhizomatic Cinephilia

curriculum manager @ ibo; educator, reformed academic + fellow traveler;